We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”
Review of Bryce Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Let me start off by saying i loved Bryce Canyon! We had done a trip going to Vegas, Bryce, Zion and Grand Canyon. One of my favourite memories is exploring the hoodoos. However Bryce Canyon Lodge was by far the worst accommodation, even though it was the most expensive. We had a cabin on the rim which we had chosen for the experience and the location. We knew it was going to be simple and rustic. It started with checking in with one of the rudest staff members I have met during our trip in the US. To be fair the rest of the staff was much nicer but she had already set the tone for our stay. Our cabin from the outside was charming. On the inside it was musky and smelling. You could hear everything from our neighbours bathroom. There was construction going on 100metres from the cabin so there went our peace and quiet with nature. Wi-fi is available but only in the main lodge. Every time we went to try it didn't work-the server was down and when it was up there were too many people and too few ip addresses.
Again i left bryce canyon with wonderful memories but when i come back i'm staying in town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Vrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    725
    282
    100
    37
See reviews for
534
862
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, UT
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We live 90 minutes from Bryce Canyon so usually do it as a day trip, but for a special birthday celebration for a CA visitor, we made Bryce Canyon reservations to include a ranger led, star gazing evening and sunrise on the rim the following morning. Nat. Park Lodge rooms everywhere are in high demand so availability limited, normally requiring reservations months in advance, which I had done.
Fortunately, the Utah parks reopened from the government shutdown the afternoon before our Oct. 12th check-in so unlike thousands of other visitors, our plans weren't canceled. For the very first time in years of going to Bryce Canyon there was a sign at the ranger station entrance advertising rooms available at the lodge, as a result from the out of state and foreign visitors who did have to cancel vacations due to the shutdown. We almost had the park overlooks, trails, lodge and restaurant to ourselves that first day booked a 2nd night. We had two rooms in the Sunset building, which had been renovated, but staying true to the original lodge design with art, fabrics and furniture in the traditional design.
The rooms were large and comfortable, the mattresses and bedding were very good and the balconies (we were on the 2nd floor) with chairs and tables among the pines, were perfect for an end of the day beverage.
It was a very short stroll to the main lodge and the rim for sunset & sunrise. Everything was clean, warm and cozy which was perfect with the cool Fall air. A dusting of snow during the night made the pink sunrise walk along the rim overlooking the majestic hoodoo amphitheater, followed by a hearty breakfast with roaring fire in the lodge a perfect beginning to a second day of under the rim hiking. Having the 2nd night to return to our wonderful rooms had it feeling like home with regrets at leaving the 3rd. day.
Even though my husband and I live fairly near Bryce, in Cedar City, I'm planning a night at the lodge again this year, for his birthday. I loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

There isn't a bar at this place to get a cocktail! I was forced into rehab after a long hike. Good thing they serve some wine at the lobby restaurant, which opens around 5 p.m. I had to keep reminding myself: you are in Utah. It's a different world here. (And there's a general store with lots of beer about 15 minutes up the road.)

That said, the cabin-style lodge is truly a step back in time. Both the lobby and the room was very rustic. Super old-school but very affordable. We had a nice little balcony with a few of the woods. It's so convenient for hiking Bryce Canyon. A perfect choice. They just need a bar in the lobby so we can reward ourselves with a margarita after a long hike.

The cutest thing was that the two house keepers--twenty-something girls--left us a post-it note on our bed the night thanking us for our staying and telling us to have a great day hiking. Hand-written on a post-it. So adorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The location is superb and great to be so close to the canyon and wildlife. The room was clean and functional, a bit old fashioned, but it did fit with the 'cabin style' accommodation. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings, and food was very good. the walks around the hoodoos were amazing, and I cannot recommend this enough. Make a day of it and do the 8 mile one - it is truly amazing. It warrants staying there a few days so that you can do a few walks, maybe the horse ride if you are so inclined. Just be careful of the deer on the road on the drive in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The main attraction in staying at this lodge is the location. The accommodation is right in the middle of the national park, surrounded by forest, and you are about 2 minutes walk from the edge of Bryce Canyon itself with its stunning views. It was lovely to wander out of our room at night (avoiding the grazing deer) and gaze at the star filled sky!! The rooms were large and comfortable - and there was no TV, which is a real attraction in my view! (Why go somewhere beautiful like Bryce Canyon if you want to watch TV...?).

The main lodge building felt like something out of the 1950s, which wasn't a bad thing - a roaring fire, and talks by the Park Rangers at 7pm each evening. The restaurant is quite expensive, and the service was pretty slow - but then that seemed to fit the mood of the overall place. It reminded me of family holidays when I was a boy in the early 1980s, where the hotel put on communal recreation for guests - and I liked that.

So if there is space, and you can afford it, this has to be the best option for accommodation in the Bryce Canyon area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stay in Bryce Canyon Lodge and you have Bryce Canyon at your doorstep. We stayed there on a full moon night and were able to enjoy the canyon bathed in moonlight. We were able to enjoy the sunset and the sunrise too.
The location warrant the price but the rooms look like they date from the 1960's; they are clean and comfortable, but not what you expect for the price.
If you do stay at Bryce Canyon Lodge, avoid eating at the restaurant, the service was excrutiatingly slow, menu was small and the food so-so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LysB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We visited Bryce Canyon National Park on the day it reopened during the unfortunate government shutdown. Because of room cancellations, I am sorry to say someone's misfortune was our good fortune and we were able to stay in a cabin that would have usually been booked far in advance. We had stayed in a cabin 10 years ago and relished the unexpected night in one again. The rooms are very comfortable and large with a gas fireplace. The shower was the best one on our trip. The rooms could use a new décor- curtains, carpet, paint and we were told that they were to be redecorated when the park closes in November. Because of the shutdown, much of the staff had left, but the remaining staff provided wonderful service and friendly help. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast at the lodge. The cabins are pricey but worth the splurge. Since the cabins are duplexes, hopefully you will have quiet neighbors. This is a spectacular national park and everyone should include it in their must-see list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon National Park
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,727 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.9 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
623 reviews
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Lodge

Property: Bryce Canyon Lodge
Address: Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryce Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Bryce Canyon, located near the rim of Bryce Canyon, is the only lodging in the Park and the perfect spot from which to launch your hoodoo and spires exploration. Couples, families and groups enjoy up-close access to the Park's rim trails and excursions plus front row seats to stunning sunrises and sunsets. Accommodations include 70 newly remodeled motel-style guest rooms(2 queens or 1 king bed) with refrigerators and microwaves; 40 cabins with gas log fireplaces. Complimentary Wi-Fi is located in the Lodge's lobby and at Valhalla Pizzaria. The historic dining room at the Lodge dates back to the original opening of the Lodge. We offer a varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Healthy gluten free and vegetarian options compliment the steaks, chops, pasta, fresh seafood and chicken selections. Our wine list features local Utah Micro-brews, domestic as well as international wine selections. Guests on the go can also grab a snack at the fast-food snack bar in the Park's General Store. Or, order to-go box lunches 24-hrs. in advance to take along on hiking and day-trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bryce Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
Bryce Canyon Lodge Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing