We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Trouble In Paradise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boca Chita Key Campground

Boca Chita Key Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biscayne National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boca Chita Key Campground
Miami
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trouble In Paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Boca Chita is a pristine little island in south Biscayne Bay with a protected lagoon able to accommodate 20-30 boats. It is crowded and noisy on the weekends as the younger boating crowd has now discovered the place and have ruined the peace and quiet with outrageously loud hip hop, rap and Latino music played all day long and well into the evening. It is sometimes nerve-wracking. If you cannot close up your boat tight and turn on the A/C to drown the noise out, you'll probably leave as we have done. There is no noise enforcement at all. My advice is to stay away and anchor out off Sands Key or Elliott Key to the soluth.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank SAILORPETEMIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

Very nice place to visit on boat we stayed there overnight and it was so nice, just bring bug spray it's like all places there is always a animal or insect to shake things up, Key West is not a good place to sleep rooster city.

  • Liked — very beautiful
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank momlovesfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

I took a day sailing trip out there with my new wife any we absolutely loved it, Our Capt set up a BBQ for us in the very clean pick nick area, the bugs were almost nil as we walked one of the Key paths around., The water was a little chilly as we did a little snorkeling off the beach, We felt as if we had the key to our selves as there were only 3 other boats there when we arrived for a day trip. The other boaters that were there were very friendly, We found our selves sharing some snacks, drinks, and friendly banter till we sailed off. I will definitely go back on another weekday for another romantic day with my wife.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank jersig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2006

I have camped many times on Boca Chita and have always had a great time. The channel into the harbor is well marked and the harbor itself is excellent and well sheltered. On the weekends try to arrive early as the harbor fills up quickly. Another option is to arrive at dusk, when the many day boaters have departed. The island is relatively small (one can walk around the entire key in about 15 minutes). If you have kids, this is great because you can let them run loose without having to worry. Typically there are also plenty of other kids on the island, as well as many exploring opportunities, so the kids will always have a great time on their own. One can relax and enjoy the beautiful view of Biscayne Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. The campsites are good and I have never seen more than 10 other tents at a time at the campsites. The harbor is typically lively at night (i.e. noisy), but in general the 10pm limit for playing music is respected. The one time I was there when a boat didn't heed this rule, a Miami Dade Police boat showed up relatively quickly and silenced the offender. I have also noticed that many of the same boats are there every weekend which adds a nice neighborly feel to the harbor. The bathroom facilities are relatively well maintained and a cleaning crew shows up every Sunday morning to clean them. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to camp, Boca Chita is great. Where else in South Florida can you have an ocean view a few yards from the water for $15 a night? My only warning would be to make sure to clear out before noon on Sundays. After that, a hoard of Sunday boaters descends upon the island with plenty of loud music, shouting and beer guzzling.... The transformation is rather shocking. While the times I have stayed on Boca Chita the bugs have been at a minimum (Jan - Mar), I would highly recommend bringing some bug spray with you as they do come out in the evening.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2005

Advice from a native redneck: tour Boca Chita and Elliot between November and March. Bugs are then at a minimum, but carry some bug spray tp be sure. I was just out there and had a delightful stay at Elliot.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2004

I love Boca Chita. I took a trip there with Biscayne Sailing. We camped out. The place is beautiful, best to visit on weekdays. Bugs are around wherever you camp. That's part of camping. Having boats and a captain made this trip more excellent.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank BigFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2004

Infested with mosquitos carrying the West Nile Virus, and lime decease carrying ticks. Horrible, Horrible!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boca Chita Key Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Chita Key Campground

Property: Boca Chita Key Campground
Address: Boca Chita Key, Biscayne National Park, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Biscayne National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Biscayne National Park
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Boca Chita Key Campground Hotel Biscayne National Park
Boca Chita Key Campground Biscayne National Park, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing