We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful little key” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boca Chita Key

Boca Chita Key
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Key in Biscayne National Park offering nature hiking trails.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful little key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I booked this trip for a Saturday, but it was canceled. I was happy it was canceled since the weather was unusually cold and there was a threat of rain. A word of advice--don't book the tour too far in advance. They are non-refundable and you cannot change the dates. I booked the tickets a week in advance and regretted it once I saw the weather forecast. We had to drive an hour from Miami to find out it was canceled. But the next weekend the weather was perfect. Boca Chita is a tiny key full of campers, but it is very pretty. We were given an hour to explore the island while the boat took the snorkelers to a nearby reef. There's a beautiful lighthouse where you get some amazing views. The water at the key is crystal clear and we saw a stingray and several tropical fish just from walking around. One part of the island has red and black mangroves along a beach full of shells. If you can do this on a beautiful day it is definitely worth a 3 hour tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank jackstraw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
256 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Oops. Captain Hit a Channel Marker”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took the boat trip out to Boca Chita Key. It was nice until on the return trip the captain hit a channel marker post which went down the starboard side of the boat and destroyed a ladder used for snorkeling and scuba diving. We were moving at a fairly high speed at the time. It was a close call. Lucky he didn't hit it straight on. As far as I am concerned, that makes the whole trip a bummer. The captain said the sun was in his eyes. OK. You have to really question the overall safety of the boat operation when something like this happens. If you try to book this trip ask them what they have done as a result of this incident to assure safety of future operations.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank swift98b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Boca Chita key should be renamed Picnic Area Key because that’s all it is. Sure, there is the ocean all around, but I don’t know if I would pay to go out there again just to be around water. A fake lighthouse marks the key. The cruise itself wasn’t bad. The captain and assistants were nice and helpful. The same boat had both snorkelers and sightseers and I think the snorkelers had more fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I did both the lighthouse and snorkel tours. We didn't realize these tours were both on the same boat. The boat drops folks off at the lighthouse and then goes onto the snorkel sight. We almost lost our snorkel tour because the tour boat got in late. We enjoyed both tours but the same boat ride got boring quick. My recommendation is to check in for both tours for the 10 am boat ride, pack a lunch, pickup snorkel gear and pack your swimsuit. Do the lighthouse tour, eat a picnic lunch and chill at the island and change into your swimsuit and get on the 2nd boat tour and go snorkeling.

Helpful?
3 Thank jfosterpersonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
430 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“A wonderful boat trip and beautiful island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went on the boat tour offered from the Biscayne National Park Visitor Center. There are two boat trips. The boat first goes to Boca Chita Key, drops off the Boca Chita visitors, and then goes out to the snorkeling site for a few hours, then returns to Boca Chita and then back to the Visitor Center. We chose to see Boca Chita. We toured the lighthouse, hiked around the island, then ate our picnic lunch we had brought with us. The picnic grounds are beautiful. There are restrooms and a small beach. The boat captain is outstanding, really informative and funny. There was light wind that day and several of the snorkelers told us on the way back they wished they had seen the island instead, as the snorkeling was not very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Chita Key also viewed

Biscayne National Park, FL
 
Biscayne National Park, FL
 

Been to Boca Chita Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing