We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar Pass Lodge Restaurant”

Cedar Pass Lodge Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Located inside historic Cedar Pass Lodge in Badlands National Park we are open seasonally serving visitors breakfast, lunch and dinner from April 15 until October 15. If you don't have time for a sit down meal, the store also sells "Grab N Go" sandwiches, salads and snacks. For years we have been known for serving visitors to the Badlands our authentic Sioux Indian Frybread - homemade. Diners also have a variety of options from fresh soup and salad bar to wraps, salads, chicken, Tatanka dogs, plus locally sourced buffalo and beef. Not only will you find healthy options, we also offer South Dakota made wine, beer and desserts, too, including the official dessert of South Dakota - Kuchen. We truck in SD State University ice cream from the school's dairy farm and creamery in Brookings, SD where they raise cattle and process their own ice cream. It is delicious! We are the only place in the western part of the state to be fortunate enough to have this scrumptious addition for your pleasure! Pleased to be serving our guests during the 2014 season during the following schedule: Apr. 15 - May 24: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm May 25 - Sept. 2: 7:00 Am - 9:00 pm Sept. 3 - Sept. 30: 7:00 Am - 8:00 pm Oct. 1 - Oct. 13: 8:00 Am - 6:00 pm Last seating in the restaurant is 30 minutes prior to Cedar Pass Store closing. Bus Tours Welcome - especially with advance notice!
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cedar Pass Lodge Restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The only game in town! OK food. We tried the Indian Fry Bread, which was new to us. Otherwise, the entrees were boring and predictable, but adequate.

On the day we were leaving, we arrived at the restaurant at the 7 am opening time, and were told that the staff hadn't arrived, so they would not be serving breakfast. No coffee-nothing! So we left and did not find anything to eat until we arrived at Mt. Rushmore 2 hours later.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    166
    189
    75
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you want ruin your awesome Badlands experience, eat here ”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

In a word- painful. The food is actually decent---but the service is among the worst I've ever experienced. We waited nearly an hour for our food--- and it was all basic stuff. By the time your food comes, you are just so frustrated that you want to leave. The sad part is you are really stuck with no other options. I wish they could get their act together because it really could be great. :(

Helpful?
Thank Marybeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, deplorable service”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We got the Sioux Indian Taco made with bison and served on fry bread. It was very good!

But the service on our visit was horrible. We went at 2pm and waited at the hostess stand for 5 minutes before we seated ourselves (hostess was nowhere to be seen). Another 10 minutes before our waitress showed up. She took our orders. Then it was 20 minutes before we even saw her again and had to flag her down to ask for our drinks. Another long wait and our food arrived. Didn't see our waitress again, asked someone else for to go box and check. There were times when there wasn't a single employee in the dining room. Terribly managed restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly But...”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

There is not much in the Badlands to choose from. We gave it a try. Honestly if I was smart I would have checked with Trip Advisor first and went someplace else.

We were greeted promptly and seated. After about five minutes of nothing we were about ready to leave. Then our waitress showed up. She was very friendly and talkative. We ordered our food and drinks. Then waited, and waited. While we waited we watched the flies on the windows. Should have gotten up and left. As we waited, a woman and her daughter sat behind us, and no one came to her. She asked us if we waited long, and we said yes. She was about to leave when a different waitress showed up.
Lets cut to the chase. My wife ordered the chicken salad. When it came, shockingly, no chicken... That took a bit to correct, and the salad itself had lot of brown leaves. I ordered the Indian taco, and was underwhelmed.
Our waitress did deduct the salad off our bill which was good.
Sad though, with the scenic view, and the number of travelers. The ownership could probably have a gold mine. Sadly right now it is fools gold.

I do not recommend this place unless it is a last resort.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JChtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After reading all the reviews, I was prepared for the Cedar Pass Lodge. There is NOTHING else out there (see my review about the cabin for more on that) so we ate dinner and night and breakfast one morning. I would actually have given dinner 5 stars and breakfast 3. For dinner the night we arrived, we were seated very quickly by a very friendly waitress. She was happy and kidding around with the other tables and children. She was not our waitress but we quickly got our drinks and ordered dinner - Indian Taco and bison burger. They arrived promptly and were really good (though cheese was ordered on the burger and did not arrive). It was busy and we we saw other families wait for awhile to be seated but it was all good for us. Not so the next morning. The breakfast server was sullen and never even refilled coffee cups. Our food was delivered without a word and she never checked back except to drop the check - not even to clear. We stayed another 2 days but did not venture back to the restaurant. BTW the gift shop is great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing