We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Worth It”

Roberts Prairie Dog Town
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Totally Worth It”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Badlands NP, and our first visit to Roberts Prairie Dog Town It was located about 5 miles off the main road. The road is gravel, but it was in good condition and we had no problems driving it.

Once we arrived, we started walking into the prairie, and there were a lot of prairie dogs to be seen (and heard). There were also quite a few Buffalo off in the distance, and plenty of evidence that they had been wandering about that area.

This is a great stop, and not to be missed if you are in the Badlands.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank agdwsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    61
    21
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place to see cute critters”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is one of the best prairie dog towns in the area. Lots of them were out of their holes and running around. One was even barking a warning to the others about the approaching humans. We got a great video of him. The buffalo herd was grazing in the field behind them. Worth a stop to see these cute little critters.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkmsMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

there appears to be many prairie dogs but they run for cover as soon as you try to take pictures or follow the path to walk out there to get closer. But i would stop, maybe you would have better luck

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dog Town”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spoiled Prairie Dogs to feed peanuts too. Better for little kids, fun to take a picure in from of the giant prairie dog.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MomCamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We saw so many prairie dogs!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped at this view point area, and at first, we were not sure about what we were supposed to see. But as we walked a bit and looked around, we realized there were prairie dogs peeking out of the ground everywhere! It was really quite fun to see them poking their heads up, and as we knew what to look for, we suddenly were seeing so many of them! Definitely a worthwhile place to stop on your drive through the badlands

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Prairie Dog Town also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Roberts Prairie Dog Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing