We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved staying at Cedar Pass Lodge and exploring some of the Badlands, but we were not there long enough. If you like nature, hiking, getting away from the city stuff/internet, and like staying in national parks, this is one you shouldn't miss - both in terms of Badlands and staying at this lodge. We were in Badlands, rest of Black Hills, Custer Park, and onto Yellowstone National Park and Teton National Park, and Badlands was one of the highlights for us..everything else great too. We arrived before dark and left noon next day and so it was too short a visit. Try to time it that you arrive for some hiking on the first day, and have a picnic dinner outside looking at the beautiful landscape. If you can't get there until late evening, then consider staying 2 nights if you have time so you're not rushed. It was wonderful. We stayed in the cottage and it was excellent, clean, everything great. The cabins looked great too. Whether in a small or large cabin, stay here and don't rush this place if you like being close to nature. If you like cities, TV and frills, then you will be missing that, but we didn't at all. We missed the film at the visitor's centre, like I said not enough time here. Astrology presentation at night was terrific. Friendly staff. Gas up, bring your water and get close to nature!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wal-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Pass Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 604 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed in a simple small cabin with two doubles. It was clean and cozy. No complaints. Think 1930s travel postcard and you get the idea. Leave the laptop in the car. It's simple and it's supposed to be.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinmdpedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The cabins were small and a bit outdated but no one cared....you were staying in the Badlands! The park at sundown is like a different world with the light bringing out all the reds and browns of the rock formations. The cabins are right next to the visitor center and the restaurant so they are very convenient. The biggest upside is they are a 5 minute walk from the outdoor ampitheatre where they do the night sky ranger show. With zero light pollution you could see stars you never knew existed. Do not miss this show done on Fri/Sat/Sun during the Summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin here. The room was quiet small but sufficient. The only drawback in the room was no 3way pin that we needed to connect our laptop, which we found only in the bathroom...it could have been hidden somewhere in the room, but we couldn't find it and since the office closes at 10pm, we couldn't check on it. Otherwise this is a nice place in the heart of badlands...great views from there. To view the sunrise and sunset of badlands, there couldn't be a better location than this. After sunset they have program/show at the open air theater that is quite nice...The only restaurant there closes at 9pm, which could be another negative if anything is reqd after that...More than anything, what bowled me over was, when we were checking out, they informed us that the rate had dropped down the day we stayed and they payed us the difference and this was without us asking and we had not known about the rate change too....
If anything is required, it must be bought before going there as the nearest store is quite far and not advisable to drive in the badlands in the night..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The cabin was very comfortable - one twin and one double bed. The AC was even turned on prior to our arrival on a hot day. A storm raged one evening and although rain made the carpet wet by the door we stayed dry and the electricity stayed on. The check in staff was pleasant and helpful. The restaurant food was OK and the breakfast was buffet only.
Free internet was available at the check in lobby and also right outside the building. Cell phone was spotty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phyllis644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Take a moment to consider what you want and where you want to be. In touch with natural beauty and unplugged from the rest of the world?? I recently stayed at this location in one of the cabins and I can't wait to go back! I know that it is a little rustic and not for everyone. But, you are in the Badlands for God's sake what do you expect. If you want air conditioning, TV's and room service then this place isn't for you. You should be happy to have a roof over your head and a bathroom close. Some of the previous reviews are complaining about the very things that make this place beautiful. Turn off the TV, and live!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

First, maybe our stay was colored by the fact that we were in the only multi-unit facility and we could hear everyone else, which made it even less enjoyable. But we did NOT like it. The screen door was so old and warped. Everything seemed so old and run down. Next time, drive through the park, but stay outside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbasmom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
285 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
18.6 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range: $131 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing