We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Price to Pay for a Fantastic View”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“High Price to Pay for a Fantastic View”
Reviewed June 5, 2009

First of all, this is the only place to stay within Badlands National Park, although there are commercial properties in adjacent community. The location is absolutely superb, with incredible views of the Badlands Wall, walking distance of the amphitheater and visitor center, and a five-minute drive from the major trailhead.

The rooms ain't cheap,considering they are filthy, poorly maintained, and tiny. My shower didn't drain, dead insects decorated the rug and my door would not lock. The housekeeping staff came in and asked if I wanted the room vacuumed! I guess if you're not there, they just let the bugs accumulate. Two adults will have a hard time maneuvering in the space; I've had larger rooms in budget Manhattan hotels.

So, the only reason to shell out $90 for one of these dumps is the location--and let's be honest, that's a compelling reason. Just be warned.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    158
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
216
283
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a great location if you're into nature. However, there is nothing to do at night from 7:30 PM on as the restaurant closes and the town of Interior has only two bars - both of which are pretty sketchy. I wouldn't recommend more then 3 or 4 nights at the cabins as you may get pretty bored. Definitely bring some games or some type of entertainment as the rooms do not have any TV's/Radios.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giggidygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin with the bath connecting the bedrooms. The front room contained two double beds, a dresser, one chair, coffeepot and AC. The back bedroom contained a queen bed, dresser, chair, small closet and AC. The bath contained a shower/tub combination, sink and toilet. No frills but was clean and comfortable. The rooms were small. I would not try to put too many people in the rooms.

I would not recommend the lodge to folks who wanted entertainment provided or who wanted to party. I would recommend the lodge to folks who were seeking peace and quiet. The lodge was very quiet at night. It appeared that everyone went to sleep when the sun went down - probably because everyone was out hiking all day and very, very tired by nightfall. :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spokanewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Set in Badlands National Park, each cabin has incomparable views of the stunning surrounding features. In close vicinity are several great hikes and spots to catch the sunrise and sunset (mandatory as both are breathtaking). The cabins are simple and well kept with everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Sure the cabins are not that big, the staff that works there are reserved (not rude), there are no amenities like a pool/exercise room/telephone/internet/soda machines....., but they are clean, serve the purpose and are in the most incredible location. One of the nights we were there a wicked T storms went by followed by howling winds overnight. It was quite impressive, glad we were there for it. You can't beat waking in the morning in the Park and walking down the driveway to the restaurant surrounded by that environment. And you don't have to waste time driving back into the Park you are already there.
WE found the restaurant to be quite a surprise, it's not gourmet but the basics were done well, there were a couple of things I had never had before (like a blueberry compote fried dough breakfast) that I was happy I tried. Wine pours were generous and fairly priced. Remember at night that it does close early, many people were not expecting the early close and then had to drive out of the Park for dinner or just have snacks if the store was still open.
To be honest when we drove past Interior, none of the motels looked that exciting from the outside, Wall seemed average, so we didnt miss anything with the cabins. Kind of like camping with a roof and floor and a bathroom. Many people were out on their porches in the pleasant Sept nights and exchanged stories of their trips, where they were going and what they enjoyed most.

  • Liked — location, restaurant
  • Disliked — beds basic, lack of chairs for comfortable reading in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We have stayed a numerous lodges and cabins in various National Parks and this was one was the worst. Although, the room was clean, the beds were very old and worn. They dipped in the middle and need to be replaced. Our cabin was behind the main lodge so we were able to get wireless internet access but I doubt that if we had any of the other cabins we would have gotten a signal. The food at the lodge was good. Just be forewarned that if you arrive after 6, you will be out of luck for getting sitted for dinner. The location was excellent; right in the middle of the park. The rooms were clean, I just wish the beds were better.

  • Liked — The location and view.
  • Disliked — The beds!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

In September, 2008, my wife and i booked two nights at the Cedar Pass Lodge in Badlands National Park. The 15 x 15 cabin with two double beds was horrible. The staff was extremely rude at check-in as well as the one time I had a question. We attempted to check in at 1:55 p.m checkin is 3 p.m. We were told the cabin was not ready, althought no one check to see if the cabin was ready. When we entered the cabin there was such a strong smell of bleach that we had to open all windows and doors. It smelled like a gallon of bleach was spill or they were trying to cover up some horrible smell. The place was so bad, that we left after the first night. When I went to the front desk to tell them we would not be staying the second night, the clerk seemed to be looking for something to continue our conversation and then took the next person and spoke for 5 minutes about them not having a cabin for them, where they could eat, etc, while I waited! Finally, after the other person finished, the clerk did not continue our conversation and told me that since I did not give 48 hours notice I would be billed for the second night. I would consider a TENT before staying in those cabins again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — This place was Terrible!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbia284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
265 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing