We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent a month out west in the national parks and the cedar lodge was by far the best lodging we stayed in the whole time. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were so comfortable.unlike other national park lodges the restaurant was fantastic.

Room Tip: Try the Indian tacos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    162
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
223
287
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was wonderful in every way except for the incredibly noisy neighbors we had next door. Somehow we got booked into a duplex cabin and I would highly recommend calling for a reservation to make sure this does not happen to you. The park is working on adding more single cabins with three almost ready to open and three cement pads awaiting their cabins. The park itself has got to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The colors, the wildlife, the relative ease in getting around made our trip here the highlight of our two weeks away. We hiked many of the trails and even took a day trip to Mount Rushmore from here. While we were in the park we saw deer, pronghorns, prairie dogs, bighorn sheep, bison, and many different birds. The prairie dog area is especially beautiful around sunset, the vista there is breathtaking, miles and miles of view.

Room Tip: Ask for a NEW SINGLE CABIN, on the telephone, not online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Bad Lands are an amazing sight to see! Rare and striking landscape, great opportunities to photograph wild life and the scent of sage as the wind blows along the prairie is absolutely lovely!

The cabins at cedar pass are located right within the park and are easy to find. The view of the night sky and milky way from the back porch is stunning. We spent hours out there just star gazing. Inside, the cabins hit the perfect blend of rustic but comfortable! Attractive and extremely clean with everything you need inside to take a hot shower and relax at the end of the day.

The whole park (including cabins) are totally "Green" which we loved. The dining hall is small, but the food is good and fairly priced- particularly the breakfast buffet!

This lodge is under 2 hrs drive to the Black Hills Forest/Wind cave/Jewel caverns/Custer State park. All are worth seeing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked a cabin for 2 nights in September 2013.
The Cabin really was excellent.
As soon as you walked in it really is like walking into an old log cabin, but these are much more modern. Everything is quality
The legs on the bed are like solid tree trunks, the chairs are heavy and solid.
There are 2 hand basins side by side (with hairdryer), with a separate toilet, microwave and big fridge and coffee maker.
The towels are the best we have ever come across in any hotel, large, fluffy and soft.
Access to the hikes in the Badlands could not be better
We didn't like the Cedar Pass Restaurant as service was awful, and the store did not sell much in the way of food, so suggest you think about bringing some food that you can eat in the cabin and/or cook in the microwave. There is a picnic table outside the cabin
As I say, the Cabins are brilliant. I highly recommend them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The newly built cabins (we were in #116) are wonderful. Roomy and well equippped (TV, microwave, refrigerator). Beds were comfortable. Quiet. Adjacent to store and restaurant. Close to attractions of the National Park. Check in not available until 4pm. Our only small issue was the aroma of the septic system being noticeable on the front porch (but not inside the room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

These brand new cabins have the rustic look but have the modern comforts--A/C, heat, fridge and Microwave. They made them rustic to keep with the theme of the desolate national park. The walls are all local wood, furniture made from "tree branches". Nicely decorated. Comfortable beds. Immaculate. Front porch with chairs. Great place to see stars. Sky is so dark. Also great place to watch the sunrise.
I was not originally able to get a reservation, but the person on the phone said keep checking online every day as they often get rooms that open up. I did, and 4 days before we were to be there I was able to get a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the first cabin at a National Park that we stayed in on a 3-week trip. It was terrific for the price. Like new, very clean and very comfortable. The views from the porch were excellent. We could not have been more pleased. Looked like more cabins were being built which should increase the chances of snagging one of these little gems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
277 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing