We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place to Stay”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Super Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the first cabin at a National Park that we stayed in on a 3-week trip. It was terrific for the price. Like new, very clean and very comfortable. The views from the porch were excellent. We could not have been more pleased. Looked like more cabins were being built which should increase the chances of snagging one of these little gems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    158
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
211
280
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cedar Pass Lodge provides adequate accommodations for Badlands National Park. Cabins include twin units with separate entrances that have been newly renovated and paneled in cedar planking. Amenities include two queen sized beds and private bathrooms. Units are clean, comfortable and adequate, but are nothing to write home about. Small back patios with 2 Adirondack chairs provide little privacy but nice views. There is precious little in this area of South Dakota and I'm sure the owners of the lodge feel no need or urgency to upgrade the accommodations any further.

Room Tip: Units closer to Hwy 240 are closer to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAAbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Less than 2 miles inside the park with photo ops ever where one turns. As noted in other reviews the cabins are new, clean and well furnished. Not very glamorous on the outside but everything you need inside. We drove 3 minutes for ideal sundown pictures and then 5 minutes to Door, Window and Notch trails for sunrise. Very quiet and very nice in Sept. CBS Sunday Morning was taking pictures the morning we were there. We hiked these three trails - all but the Notch were casual strolls. My wife enjoyed the Notch hike but did not like coming down the ladder. But definitely worth the stretch as it is very pretty and quite short.
Doing the Badlands Loop road is a must and would be a nice choice if you cannot get accommodations. We then headed to Wall for a quick visit ( not worth the effort in my humble opinion ) and on to 4 nights in the Black Hills (outstanding!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Awesome Clean Comfortable Cabins! Check in was easy, staff was friendly, and the cabins are fantastic. TV, Air conditioning, refrigerator and microwave. Beautiful views out your back door, gorgeous chairs on the back porch to take in the view. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best place to stay when you visit Badlands . All cabins at Cedar Pass Lodge are 1-2 years old. There are a few more construction sites set up for new cabins when we visited. Gift shop has interesting and unique local handy crafts. Rooms are spacious and clean. The view , especially the night sky is beyond expectation. This is one of the fee places you can easily spot International Space Station .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michigan_montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The new cabins at Cedar Pass Lodge are awesome. We have traveled to 17 national parks and most lodging is POOR at best in the parks.While we don't necessarily go for the lodging, but the parks; it's nice to have something other than places that look like they should be burned down and are dirty . The new cabins at the Badlands are the exception.They all have TV's, wifi,and are so perfectly decorated with all the pine walls and furniture. We chose not to eat in the lodge restaurant and instead took food in and used the handy microwave to heat up our dinner. If you don't eat in the cruddy restaurant, you won't be disappointed in the cabins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parksorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Check in was easy, cabin was roomy and clean. Only real complaint was the ice issue. No ice machine but they give each cabin a bag of ice. Cabin was recently renovated, had refrigerator (can't remember about microwave) and conveniently located within the park. The beds were very comfortable and water pressure in shower was o.k. Double sinks with plenty of room for stuff on counters. We only stayed one night but slept great and would definitely return. Parking for cabin was awesome. You get to park directly in front of cabin, I mean within feet of the front door. The sky (star) views from the cabin are worth seeing.

Room Tip: All cabins are in great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReunionBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing