We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cabins”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Awesome Clean Comfortable Cabins! Check in was easy, staff was friendly, and the cabins are fantastic. TV, Air conditioning, refrigerator and microwave. Beautiful views out your back door, gorgeous chairs on the back porch to take in the view. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 618 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best place to stay when you visit Badlands . All cabins at Cedar Pass Lodge are 1-2 years old. There are a few more construction sites set up for new cabins when we visited. Gift shop has interesting and unique local handy crafts. Rooms are spacious and clean. The view , especially the night sky is beyond expectation. This is one of the fee places you can easily spot International Space Station .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michigan_montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The new cabins at Cedar Pass Lodge are awesome. We have traveled to 17 national parks and most lodging is POOR at best in the parks.While we don't necessarily go for the lodging, but the parks; it's nice to have something other than places that look like they should be burned down and are dirty . The new cabins at the Badlands are the exception.They all have TV's, wifi,and are so perfectly decorated with all the pine walls and furniture. We chose not to eat in the lodge restaurant and instead took food in and used the handy microwave to heat up our dinner. If you don't eat in the cruddy restaurant, you won't be disappointed in the cabins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parksorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Check in was easy, cabin was roomy and clean. Only real complaint was the ice issue. No ice machine but they give each cabin a bag of ice. Cabin was recently renovated, had refrigerator (can't remember about microwave) and conveniently located within the park. The beds were very comfortable and water pressure in shower was o.k. Double sinks with plenty of room for stuff on counters. We only stayed one night but slept great and would definitely return. Parking for cabin was awesome. You get to park directly in front of cabin, I mean within feet of the front door. The sky (star) views from the cabin are worth seeing.

Room Tip: All cabins are in great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReunionBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Glamping cabins! Huge space, close to the Interior exit of the Park, so if your road trip is heading east, come into the Park from the Wall exit so you can come in via the Wildlife loop and end at the Lodge. Come early for the best animal viewing.

A few minutes walk to the restaurant and gift shop, and to the Ranger station for daily activities.

If you can go, go early on a summer Friday and check out the 3 PM Sun talk and the 830 Night Sky Ranger talk including a peek at a terrific telescope to get personal with a heavenly body. Then, if you are still around on Saturday, you can check out the Dinosaur lab and maybe take the easy hike. If it's warm, you will need bug spray outside at night and a sweatshirt. We thought the restaurant was okay and the gift shop very nice to browse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really can only echo the great reviews of previous TripAdvisor users. The cabins are super. We had a king and a queen bed in the room, a good-sized fridge and microwave, super soft white towels and all the room we could want. The porch is a nice addition, and someone thoughtfully put electric outlets there so we could do computer work while sitting outside. These cabins were well designed to provide nice bathroom space, room for a table and chairs, plus plenty of room to move about. We are on a lengthy cross-country trip with our dog, and this was by far the best place we had stayed with our pet. Couldn't believe dogs were permitted (and not relegated to some old unremodeled corner). The only slight negative was that we were in a "duplex" cabin and could hear pretty much everything going on next door. Some cabins were singles and might be a better choice.

My favorite thing: the Fujitsu air conditioning unit! It was 100 degrees while we were there and these amazing air conditioning units were super functional and QUIET. We could not hear them operating, except perhaps for a small "whoosh" as the air came through the vents. They were fully adjustable so that the air flow could be positioned up, down, or straight OR it could oscillate. Being someone who hates the noisy wall unit ACs that inevitably blow cold air over the bed, I really appreciated this unit.

We ate dinner at the lodge and found the food to be fine. No gourmet dining here, but there were a number of reasonable selections and cans of local beer were $3. They only served South Dakota wines, which we didn't have the fortitude to sample.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Consider a single cabin (not a duplex version) for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were blown away by the cabins at Cedar Pass Lodge, Badlands National Park. Our cabin was new and the furnishings were natural and rustic. The bathroom was huge. The website said the room had a king-size bed and a daybed, but it was really a king and a queen. That was a nice surprise. The beds were so comfy. There was plenty of room. Microwave, fridge, table and chairs, A/C and ceiling fan. What more could you want? Great stargazing and peace and quiet. The restaurant at the lodge was really awesome and had great "native" choices, even for our vegan and our gluten free travelers. The quality of the food and menu choices were really a great surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
290 reviews
22.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range: $131 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing