We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy & spotless.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Northern NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roomy & spotless.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great place to stay in the middle of nowhere. The Badlands are amazing to see & the cabins are roomy & very clean. Ours was probably the newest one since it looked brand new and several more were in beginning stages of construction next to ours. The furniture was all log, beds were big & comfy, and each cabin has a nice back porch with log adirondack chairs. The restaurant was horrible, but the lodging was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a newer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    152
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
206
272
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The only lodging inside the Badlands is the cabins at Cedar Pass. All the cabins are new (about a year) and they will be building more. The cabins are beautiful... all cedar, immaculate, with two queen beds, small fridge, microwave, hairdryer, separate shower/toilet area from sink/dressing area, table and chairs, a porch with cedar chairs that overlook a lovely view of the Badlands. Lovely inside. Beds super comfortable, Nicest lodging of our trip to South Dakota. Highly recommend... but book early, before the season opens. Not a lot of cabins yet, and we were told they all get booked long before the park opens. Restaurant is onsite. Our service was good.... food unfortunately fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollysnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are visiting Badlands NP, make sure you book your stay here. Cabins are very nice, brand new. Clean and nice beds with modern amenities. We stayed there in family of 4 with two kids in August 2013 and we really liked the place.

They also have a good restaurant in the lodge which makes it easier since there are no hotels nearby and South Dakota is difficult place for good standard restaurants.

Room Tip: Get the Single Cabins which independent and for a single family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurudesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A new, modern cabin overlooking the spectacular Badlands awaited our arrival. We are here 3 nights and feel really blessed with our accommodations. WiFi and TV in the middle of nowhere!! Next to Visitor Center and just up the road from the amphitheatre where park rangers conduct programs - last night was educational and lots, did I say lots of laughs!! We heard about night biology from a guest "dark ranger" from Bryce Canyon N.P. After the program, we star gazed into one of the darkest skies in the U.S. Dinner was satisfactory and great gift shop. A little distance to Black Hills, but nothing but great sight seeing on the way. Fridge, Microwave, double sink, and lots of space are other features of the cabin. Sat on front porch, looking at rock formations and foundations for additional cabins. Put this on your list if you visit the area.

Room Tip: Ask for 125 - last cabin and closest to the wilderness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWM72942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The cabins are right where you need to be to explore the badlands! The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we need for a two night stay. We were able to view the scenery till dusk knowing that we did not have a long ride back to our room. The lodge was walking distance from the cabins and we ate at the restaurant twice. The service on the first visit was great and on the second visit, it seemed they forgot about us. We couldn't do a third trip due to the limited menu, so we ended up eating in Wall. The only downside was when we would get in for the evening, it was the same time of day that the lodge employees would return to their cabins, and they would let loose for an hour or two. It didn't interupt our star gazing, it just made it so it wasn't that quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Disregard the older reviews on here because these cabins are brand new. They were the most amazing, clean, roomy cabins I've ever seen! Our daughters (ages 8 and 10) were overwhelmed by this place. All of the luxuries, great mattresses, parking at the door, chairs on the porch, picnic tables... I could go on! And the location is right in the heart of the badlands! I imagine these cabins will book months and months in advance when the word gets out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great place to stay! The new lodges are beautiful and comfortable. People were very nice. The new Cottages are pretty with reclaimed wood furniture, clean and roomy. Beds were so comfortable, slept soundly. Each cottage has a porch with chairs. Walking distance to the store and resturant. Coffee maker in the rooms - nice! Mini fridges and microwaves as well. Complementary toiletries. There is a little town 2 miles from the park with a couple of bars (the away from highway one has GREAT pizza), and a little store.

Room Tip: Cottages 102 and 115 had free Internet, not sure about the rest. No Internet in the shop or restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomCamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing