We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Cabins in the Badlands”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Cabins in the Badlands”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first trip here and we loved it. The cabins look little from the outside, but there is plenty of room inside. The decor is great with the wooden beds and quilts. It was very cozy. The bathroom had a large sink and a door separating the sink area from the toilet/shower area...love this when travelling with the family.
I also loved being able to walk out and the badlands are directly behind us...we took a short walk and there we are. Beautful sunrise in the morning. We only stayed for one night, which was probably enough for us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyE41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    158
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
217
283
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedonia, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is beyond wonderful! Glamping! Amazing rooms with beautiful wood furniture, comfy linens ( beautiful quilts) and mounts of pillows! Lush Bamboo towels! Native wall sconces with wood & mica details. Fridge , microwave & coffee maker. Local Indian teas! Staff is wonderful! Restaurant has delicious food made with local ingredients. High quality gift shop! Oops! I forgot! It's in the Badlands!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a tough one for me, 4th time here and although a lot of people would say the old cabins were out-dated and rough. For me they were part of a history that i liked. small, no TV and part of the National Park History. New cabins are in the same location, Very nice decoration, Comfortable beds and bigger bathroom. So overall we were very happy with the new cabins, Downside, 95$ - now 150$. Price for comfort.

Very important, Room doesn't matter, GET OUT. here is the most difficult decision you have to make. Stay up and see the imcredible stars, or get up early and see the first rays of the sun as they hit the peaks of the badlands. You will want to do both. If able, catch the ranger night sky program...

Room Tip: All of the rooms have about the same view. the cabins are on the edge of the badlands, but were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PiratesOfTheCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Staying here is a must! We were given one of the new cabins and it was very nice. Large comfy beds, refrigerator, flat screen, it's all here in this cabin but you'll rarely use it. The setting for the cabins is so amazing that you'll probably be in your room very little. The staff was great, we checked in while on the road and arrived late in the evening. The key was waiting for us and the room was nicely prepped. Morning in the badlands is amazing and waking up with a coffee and sitting in a wooden rocker on the front porch is definitely the way to do it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I highly recommend a stay here when visiting the Badlands. The cabins are surrounded by the incredible landscape that makes the Badlands so beautiful. The interior of the cabin was extremely warm and cozy. The furniture was made of beautiful logs. There was a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom area was clean and spacious..with a large sink area outside of the bathroom/shower area. We appreciated the laminate flooring..helped the cabin to feel much cleaner than carpet. The cabin had a large window facing the mountains. The covered front porch seating was perfect for sitting with a cup of coffee and watching the sunrise over the mountains. Our children loved the easy access to the mountains where they could run and climb. We ventured all the way to Yellowstone and this was my childrens favorite part of the trip. I would have to agree! I cannot say enough about how terrific the cabin was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked a cabin for our first visit to the Badlands Park, and were pleasantly surprised at the great location in the main intersection of the park, the superb new condition of the cabins, and the friendliness of the staff. The cabins are spacious, clean, and in new condition. Not luxurious...it's a log cabin...but it had a comfortable king bed, a flat screen tv, a covered porch with chairs to view the awesome landscapes, and a great bath. This was an amazing deal for the money, especially when compared to the dump we stayed in (for more money) at Grant Village in Yellowstone a few days later (will review separately).
Walking distance to the in-park Restaurant, which served reasonably priced, good food and a good choice of beers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imanav8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Township, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot say enough about this place. We stayed hee Memorial Day 2013. Our cabin was spacious and had all high end touches. It was perfect to sit on he porch and drink coffee in the morning while enjoying the sites. My 6 yr old could run and play in the wilderness. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karliesjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing