We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Pass Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
368
167
50
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
167
50
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchfront porchthese cabinsgift shopcoffee makercedar passplace to stayvisitor centerking bedbeds were comfortableindian tacoadirondack chairsshort walkduplex cabingreat cabinceiling fansouth dakota
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 616 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in a new duplex cabin. The cabins are just right inside the enterance of the park, right behind the Cedar pass Lodge and near the campground. Nice new cabin, you can't complain about new. The second night the other unit left the tv on all night and you could hear it, but barely. Nice bed, nice view and an extra day bed. Microwave, fridge, and tv. The cabins had settled some so our deadlock didn't latch, but we felt safe, so the normal lock was enough. Nice deck looking at the badlands too.
We left real early in the morning and the whole area between the cabins was filled with deer, I guess the felt safe there too.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was apprehensive about staying here, but it turned out to be quite the pleasant surprise. We stayed in a new cabin that was beautiful and very clean. There were bluebirds every where. The view out the back was spectacular of the Badlands. This is the only restaurant in the Badlands, so service is slow, but friendly. Food was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two nights at Cedar Pass Lodge in the new cabins. The cabin was absolutely beautiful and the furnishings are extremely nice. There is plenty of room in the cabin and having a table (we like to play cards in the evening) is a nice touch. The bathroom is nicely done, although the shower is a bit small, but doable. The only negative we experienced was the restaurant. We had dinner there the first night and the service was only fair, as was the food. The menu made the food sound first class, however, when it came it was very ordinary. We tried it again the following morning and had a horrible experience. Our waitress was not very pleasant and it took almost an hour to get oatmeal and eggs. The oatmeal was lukewarm and I had to ask for sugar, etc., it only came with a small serving of milk. We have eaten at many National Park Lodges and been extremely pleased, but this one falls WAY short of the mark. The dining room is lacking atmosphere and the staff was very uninterested in customer service. This is our second bad experience with Forever Resorts in a national park, they are not a very well run company. Overall we would highly recommend staying at Cedar Pass but eating in Wall, which we did the second night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Stoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After sleeping in a tent in under 30 degree temps at Yellowstone, the Cedar Pass Lodge cabin was paradise. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. There is no TV, WiFi access, alarm clock, or phone in the cabin. You can't beat the location too: you are less then a 5 minute drive to many of the hiking trails. The lodge restaurant has good food (trout was excellent and so was the indian taco), but awful service. Strongly recommend going to Interior (city south of the park) for drinks and pizza when when the lodge restaurant is closed (the lodge restaurant is open only until 6:30pm).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed there a couple years back when we were on a motorcycle trip. Stayed in one of he old cabins, ate at the restaurant and went to the outdoor presentation at night. A grand time. An the Badlands are like visiting the moon. Cool!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motorgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews