We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much too this, but doesn't need anything more...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Badlands National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Pass Campground
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We paid $15 cash to tent here, it's basically inside the park and has a great view of what's known as the Badlands Wall. You can't have campfires (it's a National Park) but every site does have a covered picnic table.

You are within walking distance of the Badlands visitor center and a restaurant, which is nice. The restaurant also has a gift shop which has camping supplies if you need them.

I recommend staying here if you want the experience of "staying in the Badlands" and don't mind going without a shower for the night (they have fairly clean restrooms but no showers).

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jbsmjs430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Pass Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 151 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

This place looks weird as you drive up. There are virtually no trees, just prairie grass (therefore no camp fires allowed) and each pitch has a little wooden shelter over the picnic table to keep the sun off. This gives you an idea that it is going to be hot! Also, as we walked up to a couple of the pitches swarms of grasshoppers jumped up in the air. I don't mind bugs but I do object to them sitting on my knees and shoulders while I'm having my dinner! We had a lot of rain one night and the critters hid out under our tent ground sheet so you could hear them jumping about and getting squashed as you walked around - poor things. All this aside it's a wonderful park to visit. The campground ranger programme is great, especially the Night Sky one, where they bring out telescopes for you to look through. It's so clear here you can see the Milky Way with the naked eye, from horizon to horizon. There are no showers, just flush toilets, but easy enough to string up a solar shower on the table canopy. it was incredibly warm here in the day as soon as the sun hit the tent we were sweltering.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Well I settled in to camp on a cool, blustery overcast day but that did not prepare me for the night. I guess I was unprepared for a June night of camping in SD. The campground was nice. Spread out, excellent prairie views on one side, badlands on the other. Great location. I tented, but the cabins looked nice nearby.

I must have picked the wrong night? It was freezing cold at night, but beyond that it was SUPER WINDY. I couldn't sleep. This was my first visit to prairie land and went from comfortable in Sioux falls with shorts to freezing wind in Wall and central SD earlier in the day.
I had blankets and comforters in my tent and an air mattress, but the wind was gusting all night and I thought my tent was going to blow away..lol...it was blowing right down above my head the entire night. We are talking 45mph winds I would guess. It woke me up as the winds gradually came over the hills brushing my tent flaps for a bit and then whipped up to a fever pitch. Gusting and pausing over and over. LIke the Gods were trying to blow me away. I vividly remember though sounds and feelings. I had to go in my car to warm up and escape the noisy and scary wind. I've been through hurricanes and that is how it felt being in a tent. Amazingly it stayed up. I got at most 2 hrs sleep, but was rewarded with a beautiful sunrise drive and photo ops. I learned my lesson and bought a 25F sleeping bag in Cody WY before heading to Yellowstone. Smooth sleeping thereafter.

Hiking on the badlands was neat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wisertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Marja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Firefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.8 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
66 reviews
22.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Campground

Address: Badlands National Park, Badlands National Park, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Badlands National Park
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Campground Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing