We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vast Imfamous Bad Lands”
Review of Badlands Wall

Badlands Wall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A ridge that goes through the park, and is the site of incredible rock formations, which are being eroded, and therefore slowly change over time.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Vast Imfamous Bad Lands”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

How can anyone visiting South Dakota not trek to the Badlands. The trails, the hiking and the views are just phenomenal. Where else can you view one of the most treacherous terrains in the Country that is referenced in so many Westerns that Hollywood has created. I was awe struck by the miles upon miles of rock formations that probably made the most tenacious traveler humbled.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    154
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, il
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Badlands”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My kids enjoyed the Badlands. There are many kid friendly trails and plenty of hills to climb.
Highly recommend the Cliff shelf and Notch Trail, although the Notch trail is a bit more challenging.
We stayed at the cottage in the park. The cottage could use some updating but it is has plenty of space for a family of 6 and is in a good location. There are smaller cabins that have been recently updated for smaller families.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Benson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It may be called Badlands but it is beautiful. We entered at the Northeast entrance and started our tour with the small walks to the Door & Window trails. Short and easy but nice. The better trail was the Notch Trail. It was a bit strenous when you consider the ladder climb up the side of the rock but not that bad. A little rock scrambling, also not bad. It was a lot of fun with beautiful rock formations and views. We then drove the loop road stopping at the Visitor Center and Lodge. Either bring your lunch or wait until you exit the park and eat in the village of Wall because there's not much at the lodge. The 20 minute video at the Visitor's Center about the park was worth the time. All the overlooks are great, especially the Yellow Mounds and Pinnacles. Saw sheep and prairie dogs. We wanted to do the Sage Creek Rim Road but the condition of the road was just not worth rattling our brains on the road for that long. We stayed in Rapid City (Alex Johnson Hotel was great) and did a day trip to the Park. It's about 1 1/2 hour drive but the Park can easily be done in a full day if you start early, even with a couple of hours of hiking. I wasn't sure what to expect from this Park but I must say I have never been disappointed when visiting any of the National Parks. This was no exception.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This was a big surprise!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed this sooo much. We drove and there were lots of small or medium hikes. It was like a little Grand Canyon only you could walk through it easily. There were wild animals. Pronghorn, Fox, Deer. Well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank queensusie1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Badlands”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The badlands are great to see. Plenty of hiking through the rock formations.
The lodge has a restaurant. The hotel just outside the Badlands is a great place to stay to watch the sun rise over the rocks. It is very clean and the staff is friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 35805HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Wall also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Badlands Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing