We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the trails”

Devils Garden Trailhead
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.89*
and up
Arches National Park 4x4 Adventure from Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 2.2-mile trail leading to Double O arch.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best of the trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was the best trail in the park. It is a difficult trail and you must carry enough water with you.
Complete loop of about 8 miles is spectacular.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank keepwalking29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    55
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A lot of bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We visited Arches on a Friday in May. We had intended to do the Delicate Arch hike but the parking lot was full (around 10:30). We proceeded down the road to the Devils Garden. All those spots were gone as well but there was a place that appeared to be "legal" (the Park information warns you that they do ticket as pulling off roadways damages fragile curst). Both Delicate Arch and Double O hikes are categorized as "strenuous" and Double O is longer so I was worried that I wouldn't make it. However, there were only a few very steep places and they didn't last long. The trail just past Landscape Arch is a good example of the hard parts (with the exception of the fins). I'm not sure how difficult the fins actually are. Going across the first time was one of the scariest things I've done in a long time. The wind was gusting at 30-40 mph. There were lots of people on the fins moving in both directions. At that point, you had no idea what would happen at the other end. On the return journey, the wind had died down, and the fins seemed almost easy - fun. The arches in the Devils Garden are lovely. The extra steps to see Partition and Navajo were well worth it. Partition had a lovely open view; Navajo was up close and sheltering. both had only a few people, as opposed to the crowds at Double O. The other side trips we did not take. This was an excellent hike not only for the arches but the vistas and beautiful landscape. Well worth the effort!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hike can be as short or long as you want. First mile is easy, then it becomes Moderate with some rock scrambling. After the second mile out it becomes Difficult and best only by experienced hikers in good shape. Full loop is 7.4 miles. Spectacular views!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RobininABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An easy hike to see 5 arches - a great way to start your Arches visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Devil's Garden is located at the very end of Arches National Park. We headed here first. We did a short hike and saw 5 arches: Pine Tree, Tunnel, Landscape, Navajo and Partition. You can hike even deeper at Devil's Garden and see more arches, but we did the 1.6 mile roundtrip. There is very little elevation gain so this is a great way to start your visit at Arches. Pine Tree Arch was our favorite and Landscape Arch was great also. Landscape won't last forever - it's already pretty thin at the center and pieces have been falling off.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank CSRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The weather is perfect for hiking in the spring--NO BUGS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The campground at Devil's Garden was outstanding. We took the large group site and around 10 private sites for our large group of around 80 people. The bathrooms were well cared for and all the sites were very clean. There are two short hikes right in the campground. One to Broken Arch and the other to Tapestry. Beautiful area. Can't go wrong with this for beginners, children or just an hour to get out a bit before dinner. There are no showers at this camp but there are flush toilets and sinks with cold water and an big industrial sink for cleaning dishes outside. The visitor center was well worth stopping in and checking out. The rangers are very helpful and the maps, videos, and displays are perfect to orient beginning to advanced hikers and explorers. Great place to bring the bikes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank saphfirebluez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Garden Trailhead also viewed

Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 
Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 

Been to Devils Garden Trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing