We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice fun place to camp in Arches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arches National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devil's Garden Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice fun place to camp in Arches”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Not only is this a nice place to camp in Arches, it is the ONLY place to camp! You MUST book ahead here as it is fills up way ahead of time. It was nicer than I thought it would be - restrooms and sinks were a welcome addition. Many of the sites have fabulous views and some areas a bit more crowded than others and could be loud with big groups. We stayed back on the end of the loop - number 51 - and it was tucked in and nice and quiet. We just wish we could have stayed longer.....

Room Tip: The sites on the main road on the way in have amazing views but are subject to lots of wind. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This campground made me feel like the luckiest girl in the world! The views are incredible- campsites on the left as you drive in have open views, while ones on the right sit next to the rocks. Both are great options. The bathrooms are clean but do not have showers, but no worries- go to town for dinner and a beer and you can get a shower in Moab. We went to the Aquatics Center and paid $4.00 for a hot shower at the sparkling facility.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NHgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We camped here in early March in space #7. Paved and right down from the restrooms, we liked it a lot. If you want views, go up to the loop in the road near the amphitheater and stay there. Frank the campground host was great.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowbflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Each time I hit Moab, we stay at Devil's Garden. The campground itself is set way back in Arches National Park, and is convenient to all the sights within the park. To travel into Moab it's a bit of a haul, but it's so much nicer to be out of the city center and enjoy the dark skies out here at night. The rangers are friendly and there is firewood available at the campground entrance. This place does get crowded, so book in advance if you can. There are flush toilets and clean restroom facilities, along with water. There are no shower facilities, so bring your solar shower. The views of the Milky Way at night are incredible. There are hiking trails right off the campground loops. There are few sites with shade, and the sun definitely gets blazing if you are out here in summer, so bring along a canopy to give you some shade!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstackon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great campsite! Tucked away.
Hope to get the same site in April 2014.
It is a different experience waking up in the park. You feel like an insider. I recommend the ranger talk in the evening. You definitely want to reserve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catlthepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Do not expect the facility as is in Yosemite. But this one is so charming. We arrived during the sunset. Campsite (nr.11) was clean, spacious enough. Small issue is the sandy subsoil for tents. It was little bit windy that night, but few small stones had fixed the problem :).
Toilets were clean and the surroundings is quiet enough to have proper sleep.
When I went to sleep, there was no moon up in the sky yet. I woke up in the middle of the night and did small walk to the bathrooms.
SPEECHLESS.
The moon, the stars, the rocks in the moonlight. I felt in love with this place immediately.
So far I can say this is the most beautiful camp I have ever been to. One night there is not enough.
Do the trail to Delicate arch, it's HUGE :). The view from the Delicate Arch viewpoint is nice, but the trail up to the arch is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

To start off the only way to get to this site is through Arches park, there is a 10 dollar per car per day charge to enter the park. The scenery is amazing, it looks like sky scrapers made of stone, the spires and towers are literally hundreds of feet tall. There are trails off the single lane road to visit all these amazing rock formations. The drive to the camp site is about 15 miles, half way through that it feels like you are leaving the park, but there is a little valley that separates two portions of the park.
You will see signs for the camp ground. You do need to reserve spaces there before hand and for weekends they sell out 3-5 months in advance. Book early! From November to March(I think?) it is first come first serve. There are 50+ sites, you pay the $20 a day. and leaving cash in a deposit box at the camp ground entrance. If you are there before 2-3:00PM you should have at least 1/2 the sites available. ( During the self serve months)
We stayed at site 25, you park next to the site so it is easy to unpack ( This is car camping) There are fire rings and picnic tables at all the sites. The ground is clay/sand in most places and makes for a comfortable and easy to pitch a tent. There are rock formations all around and they are breath taking. There is a limited amount of wood you can buy ( from what I saw) at the entry way of the camp ground $5 each at certain times of the day ( see posted sign) or also from a ranger that passes buy about 1once every 2-3 hours. There is potable water faucets outside the bathrooms. The bathrooms are clean and well maintained. ( right across the street from site 25)
The sites are far enough away that you are not looking at sites next to you, but you will hear them, which I know my wife appreciated. There are rock formation all over the place the are very photogenic and the entire place makes you want to explore and take in some the most stunning and unique scenery the southwest US has to offer. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arches National Park
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.9 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
728 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
11.0 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
0.8 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Garden Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Garden Campground

Property: Devil's Garden Campground
Address: Arches National Park, Arches National Park, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Arches National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Arches National Park
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the only campground in Arches National Park and is open in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devil`s Garden Campground Hotel Arches National Park
Devil's Garden Campground Arches National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing