We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arches must-see hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fiery Furnace

Fiery Furnace
Book In Advance
More Info
$615.00*
and up
Arches National Park Flight and Ground Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excellent hike, especially with a guide, and a wonderful opportunity for sunset photos.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Arches must-see hike”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hike was a great way to wrap up our time at Arches. The entire hike is like walking through a Nat Geo picture book of the southwest. Rising archways and ancient junipers frame the ~3hr traverse. The ranger gave us some great detailed explanation about the rock formations, and a ton of time for the numerous photo-ops along the trail. There are even a few places where you can squeeze yourself through some of the formations. If you get the chance you should do the hike, as it gives you a real sense of scale (both time and space) for the whole park.

It was definitely as hot as the guide says, so make sure to take plenty of water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jmart134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    38
    12
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tour and hike.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was lucky enough to get tickets for this tour due to the government shutdown and cancellations. We really enjoyed hearing about the geology, history of the park, and other info that Allison, the ranger, provided. If you just want to hike through without learning anything, get your own permit, but you will miss out on lots of great information provided by the ranger.

It is not a very difficult hike. We had people ranging from teenagers to late 70's on the hike, and all were able to complete it without holding anyone up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank iplay10us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Skip the ranger tour! Get a self guided permit”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Mistake on my part but I was under the impression you had to join a tour to visit the fiery furnace, you do not. You can simply request a self guided permit, and if you have any hiking experience whatsoever then this is the way to go. The tour took 3 hours, half of that was spent standing around listening to the Ranger talk.. that's fine for some, and the older people in the group likely appreciated the breaks but I found it painfully drawn out.. it is such a cool place, it would be a blast to be able to go in their on your own and just mess around and get lost a bit. To get an idea of what the terrain is like try the Devil's Garden loop and the Broken Arch loop.. there's a trail but it's very easy to scramble around on both of those and explore, just don't step on any vegetation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank ironman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Hike”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Signed up for the ranger-led hike 3 months in advance. What a bargain for $10 ($5 with Senior Park Pass)! Went on the morning hike, so temps were cool, not hot. Ranger Karen was so informative and shared her love of the area with everyone(25 on the tour). Before we started, she talked about a few of the more challenging areas of the hike and explained how to do them. We stopped numerous times during the hike to talk about the area, ecology, geography,answer questions, etc. Karen was a terrific guide!! I was very nervous about going on the hike even though I am a very fit senior in my early 60's. I have a fear of heights, but managed just fine. Ranger Karen explained (and demonstrated) how to do the challenging parts of the hike. Most weren't as scary as they looked once you had done it! I would definately go on this hike again! Scenery was fantastic. I would definately recommend good hiking shoes which everyone in our group had on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We signed up for the ranger led hike and fully recommend doing this. You do need to go with a group - think about 25 or so - but only cost $10 per person where the private tour are $90 per person and think that still has up to up to 15 people on the hike. With that being said - sign up early http://www.recreation.gov/tourSearchResult.do?contractCode=NRSO&parkId=93768. After our hike, saw a family that was at the trailhead but no reservation. You can not walk in at all, not even allowed to park.

We had a fantastic guide - told us interesting things about the canyon along the way and gave us demonstrations to get thru the trickier spots. Even took us on a mini side trip to climb up and thru a tunnel - great fun.

Downside for the boys, moved a little slow for them. Everyone is supposed to follow in the footsteps of the person before them to know the easiest way. Since the kids in any group are the fastest and tend to not look for the easiest way this doesn't really happen. Even with these minor issues this is not to be missed and VERY fun.

We did this first thing in the morning and as our introduction to the park. This is perfect because she was able to judge our skill and give us suggestions. Really would not do this the first time alone even though you are allowed if you jump thru some hoops. Really think you would never see as much and we needed some advice to get thru some of the sections.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ESJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiery Furnace also viewed

Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 
Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 

Been to Fiery Furnace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing