We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Hidden Arch

Sand Dune Arch is a short walk through the sand and between huge rock formations. In the late... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
JTHC_4
,
Arkansas
Sand

Sand all around. Easy to reach but there is one narrow area to squealed through. Nice place for a... read more

Reviewed March 19, 2019
Jolene224
,
Bulverde, Texas
via mobile
Read all 246 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Arches National Park
from $119.46
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
from $101.14
More Info
from $1,198.99
More Info
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
147
68
30
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
68
30
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk kids will love narrow slot canyon great for kids kids run beach toys small canyon mid summer warm glow rock walls parking area an easy walk the loop red rocks picture taking parking lot worth a stop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Sand all around. Easy to reach but there is one narrow area to squealed through. Nice place for a family photo. I imagine in the summer it would be nice and cool there

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jolene224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

This Arch is an easy walk from the related parking area and well worth the walk. It is set in a cave-like place with sand and a warm glow all around.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Georgesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

WE were dead tired when we got to this arches parking lot. We had already hiked over ten miles to other arches in the park. But we noted this was a short hike to this hidden arch so we drug ourselves to it. We are so glad we did. To get to it you have to walk through a hidden cavern of sorts. There is a narrow passage way to get there. You are also walking on loose beach like sand as you draw close. This is a unique arch with a sandstone wall and sand closely surrounding it. It can be a bit crowded back there. Picture taking can be a bit of a hurried to get a clear shot from other travelers getting into your pictures. But we are very happy we checked this arch off of our list. It was a different experience from the other arches. The round trip hike was less than a mile. This trail would be good for all ages and abilities.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank wetravelalot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

Make the most of a visit to Arches National Park with this two hour circuit. After a side trip to Sand Dune Arch, continue to Broken Arch. Many visitors turn back here, but scramble up through the arch to continue the circuit. We had the rest of the hike to ourselves, only meeting four other visitors coming in the opposite direction. As there were fewer people we saw more wildlife than in the more popular areas of the park.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank preeveparks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

While the "psychos" in our Road Scholar crew tackled the grueling hike up to Delicate Arch, the more sedate among us got to visit Sand Dune arch instead. It was a short walk between the rock "fins" that conceal this almost living room-size arch. As you walk in, don't forget to look up at the blue sky that descends in almost lightning-bolt shapes - a neat photo for the kids. Arriving at the arch itself, you'll find an almost sanctuary-like silence (if, that is, you don't go in mid summer), and you'll be surrounded by fascinating shapes and textures. One hint: from the opening to the arch "room" you should be able to see the alternative name we gave Sand Dune: "Raven's Kiss Arch"; the huge stone to the left looks just like a huge raven's head, with its beak just kissing the stone on the right as the two of them comprise Sand Dune Arch. See if you agree!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank IggyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews