We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-do hike when in Arches.”
Review of Delicate Arch

Delicate Arch
Book In Advance
More Info
$189.00*
and up
Canyonlands and Arches Special
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A world-famous natural sandstone arch.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must-do hike when in Arches.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a spectacular hike and viewpoint when you're in Arches, NP. Be prepared, the initial climb can be a lung-buster if you're not in shape. Best time to head there is at sunset, but bring along a headlamp and flashlight for the walk back. It can get pretty crowded, so get there a little early to stake out your claim along the sandstone for the premium photo op. Avoid standing near the arch as the sun goes down; this is a prime time to get a shot of the arch as the colors change. Also check out the short hike to Double Arch down the road a little. Also an amazing place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rstackon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    159
    30
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“One of THE walks of the world.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We've done it 3 times; even the less-than-athletic can do it, though it takes care by the those not familiar with slick rocks, heat/cold, drop-offs. Best to start just before dawn on a summer morning, but even this last December when there was snow, but not too much ice, very doable. We saw well over a 100 walkers one hour. The arch is so unexpected, so isolated on the top of the ridge, so perfect in it's formation. Totally worth the time and effort (maybe multiple times) - but heed every park warning about shoes, water, weather protection and timing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“my favorite arch in the park”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we drove all around arches national park to check out as many points of interest as possible. delicate arch was probably the last arch we went to. i expected a short and easy hike but i guess i jumbled the information in my head because during the hike, i was thinking, "how can this be an easy hike? it'd have to be moderate." we didn't have a problem hiking it but i was just expecting something easy the whole time. it's definitely worth it. you just follow the people or the rock signs to guide you to the arch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank F1shst1kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most beautiful national park in the us”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Arches National Park is for me the most beautiful National Park in the US. Delicate Arch is the most prominent one - visit it at dusk for the superb colors, visit it at dawn for the few people. Approach it from south and look at it from a distance.

Best location to stay is the camp ground inside the park - don't forget to make reservations 6 months in advance

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaspar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“They call this an easy hike?Worth it though!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are not experienced hikers, but we love hiking National Parks. This hike was one of our first official hikes as a family on a two week trip out west. My husband and I are not in the greatest of shape, we could lose a few pounds or so... but we survived this hike! We SHOULD HAVE started earlier in the morning when it was COOLER but we didn't. We loaded up the back pack with 15 bottles of water (some reusable, some plastic) because the sign said to take lots of water. Next trip we will purchase more than one backpack to distribute the weight! We only used about 8 bottles but they scare you with the heat exhaustion signs, better to be safe than sorry. We ran into a lady whose husband said they didn't need water... we gave her a bottle because we were worried about her safety.

Take an umbrella for the heat! We had one with us and it was wonderful to provide shade sharing it between the four of us. There was VERY LITTLE SHADE to share with tons of other hikers. It was a very crowded hike. Did I say how hot it was there in July for us Ohioans?

Once we made it to Delicate Arch we made pb&j sandwiches for lunch. It is a good place to sit and relax and have lunch once you make it there. Take lots of pictures, they say they don't know how much longer this arch will be there due to erosion.

Don't depend on using the bathroom here, they are not flush toilets and stunk to high heaven in the heat. Don't worry though, your body will just sweat out all liquids you drink!

I would definitely recommend this hike, as long as you are healthy. A little overweight, like us? We still made it! I agree it is the BEST at Arches.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank teachermama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicate Arch also viewed

Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 
Arches National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 

Been to Delicate Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing