We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accomodations and great hospitality on...”
Virginia's Sunset Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Virginia's Sunset Cottage
Sunset Cottages grassy lawn overlooking Blue Hill Bay Living room overlooking the lawn has flat screen TV, DVD player, dining table, and WIFI
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Virginia's Sunset Cottage
Sunset Cottages grassy lawn overlooking Blue Hill Bay
Living room overlooking the lawn has flat screen TV, DVD player, dining table, and WIFI
Bedroom has king bed and twin trundle beds
Trundle beds separated
Second trundle bed can be stowed away if not needed
Fully equipped kitchen with stove, microwave, coffee maker, pots, pans, dishes, glasses, utensils..
Bathroom with walk-in shower
Harbor seals, porpoises, eagle, and osprey have been seen from our ledges.
Enjoy your morning coffee or a glass of wine at sunset overlooking the bay.
Our picnic table on the shore
Photo taken from our ledges at sunset!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard K
1 review
“Perfect accomodations and great hospitality on the quietside of Acadia”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a great place at which to spend a week on the quietside of Acadia. The cottage was spotless, well provisioned (cookware and kitchen equipment allowed us to cook as we like!), beautifully situated on the SW coast of Mount Desert Island. The hosts - Robin and Robert - provided just the right amount of contact with us, meeting all of our needs for advice on local shopping - especially sources for seafood. The physical beauty of the seashore, just 100 yards away, worked its customary magic, allowing the week of relaxation and island activity to reach deeply inside, providing a lasting sense of peace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
We agree spending time on the ledges here is peaceful and magical. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Virginia's Sunset.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jrmurray4...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Acadia adventure”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Virginia's Sunrise provided us a comfortable oasis and home base during our Acadia adventure. Located on the quiet side of the island, it was a haven after our daily excursions. Our rustic cottage was well equipped with amenities. We enjoyed the evening sunsets on the chairs provided on shore's edge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us on the quietside of MDI.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEB7777
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Peaceful, quiet getaway”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great seaside location; peaceful, quiet property that's close to fantastic hiking if that's what you crave. It's a relatively quick trip to Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia - and an early start will help you avoid the peak summer crowds. Your respectful hosts will suggest the best places to dine, whether grabbing a sandwich, nice dinner or locally made pies and ice cream. The cottage is reminiscent of a summer camp you'd typically find on the lakes in Upstate NY. Best for two adults or parents who don't mind sharing their bedroom with their children.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful week at a secluded cottage on MDI”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in late August in "Virginia's Sunset" cottage on MDI. The host Robin and her family have 3 cottages on their family property which they rent out by the week. Robin is a great host and offers lots of information on how to enjoy your stay on MDI, including the cruise ship schedule for Bar Harbor so you know when the town will be most crowded. The cottages are all on a great lawn sloping down to Duck Cove and looking west over Blue Hill Bay. This setting offers amazing sunsets and great wildlife -- in our week we say eagles, dolphins, seals, loons, and red-neck grebes. The cottages are very comfortable with full kitchens, bathroom, TV and wifi. The cottages are very quiet and on the south western edge of MDI, 8 miles west of SW Harbor, and about 40 minutes to the main entrance to Acadia and Bar Harbor. They provide a great place to relax and end your day after hiking, water or other adventures on MDI. We recommend Robin and her cottages very highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice C
Colchester, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome sunsets”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This family-run cottage has been a favorite place for us for several years. We love the location on the quiet side. Best sunsets. It's cozy and rustic but perfect for our needs. Nothing fancy, but that's part of the charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandra...
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location on the quiet side of the island”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here from late August through early September. We very much enjoyed the location. It is quiet, peaceful, and relaxing with beautiful views of the ocean and sunsets. We even saw a harbor seal from the property while waiting for the sunset! The cottage is the perfect size for two people. With a separate living/dining room from the bedroom, one of us was able to be up early for sunrise, while the other slept later. This cottage is one of three rentals on the property. It is in the middle of the other two, but still feels very secluded. The other two cottages were both rented the same week, but we never heard our neighbors. While many people refer to this cottage's location as being on the "quiet side of the island", that in no way means that it lacks access to attractions and amenities. Very close to this cottage you have: a small grocery store, several nice restaurants, a wonderful pie/cookie stand, Bass Harbor Light House, great trails, and more intense Acadia hikes outside of the main Park proper. We would stay at this location again without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
“Great experience, very friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great views, cottage was very clean. Quiet location, terrific access to trails and picnic areas. Leaves us with the very best memories of our only trip to Maine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, clean cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing