We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Sunsets!”
Annies Outlook with ocean facing deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Annies Outlook with ocean facing deck
View toward ocean and private ledges Bedroom with king-size bed. All linens provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Annies Outlook with ocean facing deck
View toward ocean and private ledges
Bedroom with king-size bed. All linens provided.
Living room has satellite TV, DVD player, and WIFI
Fully-equipped kitchen with gas stove, microwave, coffee maker, pot, pans, dishes, utensils...
Glass-fronted gas stove keeps the cottage toasty on cool days.
Enjoy your morning coffee or a glass of wine at sunset overlooking the bay.
View of Annie's Outlook from the oceanfront ledges
Private ledges out front, tidal pools to explore, adarondackchairs
Sunset view from the deck of Annie's Outlook Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Van N
Annandale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Sunsets!”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a much anticipated trip, and Annie's Outlook truly delivered. Like all other reviews, I have reinforce that the cottage was fantastic: well stocked with amenities, modern conveniences, beautiful views, and generous owners (Barbara and family). This is a wonderful place to make as your home base. What could be better than dining with awesome Sunset views of Duck Cove in front of you? What could be better than being comfortable and relaxed in your home away from home? What could be better than drinking wine on your own private deck/adironack chairs dotted around the property. You won't be disappointed. We weren't and we are likely to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, amenities, and the Everbeck family
Liked least: Internet wifi was a bit slow, but it seemed this way all over over the island
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClairedeK...
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage on the "quiet side" of the island”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is even nicer than it looks in the pictures. It was extremely clean, and the kitchen and bath were recently and nicely renovated. The bed was quite comfortable. The setting could not be more perfect for someone who comes for the love of the Maine coast. To sit out on the Adirondack chairs at the edge of the water in the morning or at sunset is like a dream. The only complaint is that the mosquitos love the setting as well, but that is Maine in July!! I will add to the other reviews by noting that the thoughtful attention to details by the owners was much appreciated, as were the helpful notes and suggestions provided. We were alerted to a fisherman who sells from his truck along the road and grilled halibut on the gas grill, and cooked scallops stove, which was a delight in the well-equipped kitchen. And the lobster at Thurstons,the lobster pound just around the corner, was fabulous! It is truly on the "quiet side" of the island, but has the convenience of small markets for provisions close by. After hiking the trails during the day, it was such a pleasure to return, and we were sad to leave after our week was over. We will be back for sure. I can't imagine a nicer place for a couple to stay on Mt Desert Island.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D
Streator, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We returned to Sunset Cottages and Annie's to for the second year in a row. Simply put, we felt like we were coming home! The cottage is warm and welcoming and has every convenience including a complete kitchen, gas grill, cute remodeled bathroom with towels (and bedding) provided, a deck with great views overlooking the ocean front property, and more. The grounds are well maintained, and there are Adirondack chairs right at the edge of the ledges where you can watch stunning sunsets and the eagles as they soar back and forth across the cove as well as loons and Harbor seal in the water below. We lucked out in finding Annie's Outlook last year, and now we can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island. We feel so fortunate that dumb luck led us to the Quiet Side and to this lovely home away from home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosefort...
Almont, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway and nice surroundings”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed being close to Acadia Nat'l Park. Nice view from cottage. We saw eagle flying overhead. A harbor seal made a visit and we saw numerous water fowl we had not seen before. But for the price, there were a few negative things we feel about the place. The futon/couch was not very comfortable. The other thing is there were bugs (silverfish?) showing up on the kitchen counters and on the floor. Spraying with "Home Defense" might help with this problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: view & surroundings
Liked least: discomfort on futon/couch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
We appreciate your feedback. We do spray the cottage every spring. These must have been some particularly hardy little bugs this year. Thank you for letting us know so we can address them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet, Amazing.”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Annie's Outlook was simply perfect. It was such a welcome respite to be in such a quiet place for a whole week. Our 8 & 4 year old daughters had plenty of space to play, and they loved the large yard & ability to climb down to the waterfront. The stars at night were beyond perfect--we had never seen so many before! The owners were very helpful, but also very respectful of our privacy. Easy to get to downtown Bar Harbor (so crowded--very happy we stayed on the "quiet side" of the island. Go to Echo Lake. We were there every day. You will not be disappointed! And if you have young children, book a tour with Diver Ed. Worth every penny.

We want to return to Annie's Outlook again. Maybe 2015??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet property. House is very clean, has a well stocked kitchen.
Liked least: Mosquitos! : )
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D
Streator, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best stay EVER!”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We could not have been more thrilled with our accommodations at Annie's Outlook, Sunset Cottages. The cottage was exactly as pictured on the website. It was immaculately clean and well appointed in every way! The furnishings were attractive and comfortable, and the kitchen was fully equipped. There was a nice gas grill for our private use. Picnic tables and chairs and a screen tent were thoughtfully placed around the water-side property that provided spectacular views. We watched the harbor seals playing below us. The Everbecks were easy and pleasant to work with and advised us on must-sees and avoidances on the island. We had the perfect vacation in Maine, and Annie's Outlook was a huge reason why. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to say. It was all fantastic! The skylight was great though! And nice deck!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam72014
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The best - wonderful location, great hosts, beautiful cottage. The Quiet side is a beautiful part of MDI. We will be back! Thanks Barb and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing