We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful lake with ammenities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Lake Beach

Echo Lake Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake with ammenities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one of my favorite spots on the island. There are bathrooms, changing rooms and a large sand beach. My son and husband love the Beach Cliffs trail which connects to Beach Mt. The water is good for swimming even in early fall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most scenic family lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great for families! The water is a little cold and it can get crowded, but the view is unforgettable! It is absolutely superior. There is a wonderful hike above it and the beach and utilities are fair. Once again I truly recommend this to large parties!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank winthropian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I really enjoy this beach and try to go every year. The changing areas and bathrooms are clean and well maintained. There is a very short walk to the beach from the parking area. There is some grassy areas to sit, and then sand right up to the water. The water is very clear and clean. There was a lifeguard on duty while we were there. The swim area does not drop off quickly which is nice for children. Beautiful view!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank April1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ira, VT
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Water much warmer to swim in than Sand Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a great beach and the water much more "swim" friendly both in temperature and temperment.

Our girls much preferred swimming here than in the ocean and normally they don't care how cold the water is.

Loved the fact that there were flush toilets and seperate changing rooms.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chetteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
268 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clear Water Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We came to ME to escape the heat and wow, it was 90 degrees here in July, and very humid (average temperature is 67 degrees in July). Even on the water, it was warm. We found Echo Lake, and loved it. It is so scenic. This beach was very nice, though driving around the loop we found many other places to take a dip. Just follow the locals, they know other areas that are less frequented. On a hot day, and there are very few hot days in Maine, expect this area to be quite full. The lake temperature was nice, not too cold. It was clean and clear. The wildlife, many deer and other wildlife seem to know they are untouchable and sit around looking for handouts.
If you have time and energy, there is a lovely walking path surrounding the lake that is not too difficult to navigate

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank myworldexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echo Lake Beach also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Echo Lake Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing