We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The heart of the island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Roads

Carriage Roads
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The heart of the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I highly recommend experiencing the carriage roads - I mean, what better way to see the interior of the island than a beautiful walk or bike along the well-marked carriage roads? Our Inn had a great book on the various loops which was helpful in getting around the carriage roads. We pedaled from NE Harbor to Jordan Pond and back - loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank apples0ranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    47
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great wide open trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Carriage Roads are excellent wide open trails for those looking to explore the park beyond the roads, but not have to climb up a mountain. They would also be a great introduction to trail riding and running for those who haven't done it before. There are also some tougher hikes that cross the carriage roads, giving you the opportunity to mix up your hikes. The bridges crossing the streams are pretty neat as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FJOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
661 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great hiking/biking trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well maintained and wide enough for bikes, people and horses, these trails wind thru the National park from ocean side to mountain summit. Couples with the Park Loop Roads, you can visit most of the park. Scenic and quiet--many options from short hikes, to day trips to miles-long bike jaunts. Crushed rock surface. You can ride a hybrid or mountain bike on these surfaces.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“delight biking trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking for a way to get around the Mount Desert Island, even close to the ocean on a bike this is how to do it. We look forward to next summer when we have more time to explore them further.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wrpupkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOlden, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bike, walk, ski or ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the gems of this country. I am blessed to live nearby so I take advantage of fall and winter to ride and ski there. You can't find a better place in North America. Safe riding off the road for kids, elderly or just anyone. Trails all go past the most fabulous scenery on the east coast. Can't say enough about it. Just crowded with out-of-staters in the summer. OK, if you are from away!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kmangene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Roads also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Carriage Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing