We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FUN ON A BIKE”
Review of Carriage Roads

Carriage Roads
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN ON A BIKE”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great scenery, easy biking, fun, fun, fun. Transportation to the start of the trails if needed!!! Affordable bike rentals and decent bikes for the trails

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank scvdladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    57
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place to ride carriage trails, well maintained”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I ride mountain bikes a LOT....usually single track, some carriage trails for a fun relaxing ride, these carriage roads are the best maintained I've ever ridden on, they are so smooth, like a road but without ALL THE CARS!! The view, you just can't beat it, so much fun to ride these trails, really enjoyed it and I would do it again. If you like to bike/hike or walk, you won't go wrong in Acadia National Park!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A marvel in engineering and beauty”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The carriage roads in Acadia National park are not only beautiful, but they are historically fascinating. I highly recommend the book "Mr. Rockefella's Roads" if you want to learn more about that history. Mr. Rockefella left behind a treasure for all to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLANE208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must see walking or by bike”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We rented bikes in Bar Harbor and rode 12.5 miles of the 53 miles of the Carriage trails. It was a highlight of our visit. Beautiful scenery, Pretty level and much to stop and see along the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful and refreshing”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took our bikes for a whole day cycling on the Carriage Roads. The road conditions are perfect so it's a very good way of getting around and seeing a lot of the park.
It's a beautiful and refreshing experience to cycling along the different lakes, through the endless woods and even run into a couple of nice buildings. The signing in the park is really convenient. Just take the carriage road map with you and you'll be fine.
Be aware that some parts are private property and you're not allowed to cycle there (we walked these parts).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerardFS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Roads also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Carriage Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing