We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do....”

Carriages of Acadia
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must do....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Took our 12 and 8 year old daughters on this ride to Day Mountain. It was relaxing and the views up there were wonderful. The guide was knowledgeable and it was a wonderful way to ride the carriage roads.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carriages of Acadia worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were looking for a unique experience in Acadia National Park and choose a two hour bridge tour with Carriages of Acadia. The cost was about $25.00 per person. Our guide was Ashley and she was impressive as she told us a lot about the historic carriage roads and Acadia National Park. Ashley also told a number of humorous stories and knew far more than two Bar Harbor residents that were on our ride. During the ride we learned about the team magnificent and very large horses (Willy and Waylon) that were pulling our carriage. The ride was the highlight of our trip and my children enjoyed this activity more than anything else we did during our stay in Bar Harbor. I am always concerned that animals in these situations are not well cared for but these horses were clearly well fed and cared for by our guide who treated them with respect and kindness. My daughter loved the stories that Ashley told about the squirels and now wants a horse of her own. This is a great way to see the carriage roads and to see some beautiful aspects of the park. A wonderful family activity and Ashley was a great guide whom I would request again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to try something different so we booked a horse carriage tour around Acadia Park. You ride in a wagon type carriage with 10 people carried by 2 horses. 2 trail guide/drivers take you up a hill to view the sights while talking about the history of the island and tell you stories. My only complaint is that the wagon wasn't very comfortable on the 2 hour trip. It is a must do if you visit the park since cars can't travel those roads and you can see the island from a different perspective.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank teachonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Really Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We opted for the 2-hour Rockefeller Bridges Tour with Carriages of Acadia. John D. Rockefeller built these roads in the early 20th century for carriages, so it's a great way to see them. Sprinkled along the roads are magnificent handmade granite bridges. The tour was really interesting – we learned quite a bit of history of the roads and the Rockefeller’s, who were instrumental in the establishment of many of our national parks. The day was absolutely spectacular as well. A really fun and relaxing way to spend a couple of hours in Acadia National Park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lojo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth doing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved taking the carriage ride. You get a different view of the park at a slower pace and on the back roads. It is worth doing this especially if you have children.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hyperhippiechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriages of Acadia also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Carriages of Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing