We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent trip through Acadia”
Review of Park Loop Road

Park Loop Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A major national park in Maine where the attractions and sights are well known along the 20-mile Park Loop Road.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent trip through Acadia”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The loop road is well maintained and has plenty of pulloffs and areas where parking in the right hand lane is permitted. The loop road allows easy access to the shore line and hiking trails.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    170
    44
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must be toured ... even during a brief visit to Desert Island”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I have visited Bar Harbor 4 separate times over the past few decades. We toured Loop Road every visit. Our schedule limited us to 2 hours of late afternoon touring, during our first trip. Our time could not have been used better! We will continue to periodically visit Acadia National Park for the rest of our lives.

Touring the loop gives you alternative views of the coast line, a beach opportunity and numerous hiking trails. Hiking the trail at the crest of Cadillac Mountain is a must during any drive. A modest length trail provides dramatic views of the Desert Island Atlantic Coast. The view is an endless scene of the Atlantic Ocean, numerous smaller islands, cruise ships as well as the island's coast line.

A drive around Loop Road is breath taking and memorable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Could spend days here”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The loop road is always gorgeous, but I could spend days here, exploring all of the trials, hiking the mountains, watching the tide come in at thunder Hole, having tea at the Jordan Pond House. Absolutely lovely spot and jewel of the northeast. Not as well known as other national parks, so not too terribly crowded, but absolutely lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WIsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little civil disobedience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had planned to spend several days in Acadia but changed our plans because of park closure.
We did drive over for one day, not realizing how easy it was to access park on our bicycles!
Had a lovely carriage road ride and then hopped on to the park road near Otter Cliffs and rode
down to Thunder Hole. Spectacular scenery and few people...an unusually lucky day for us!
Hard to imagine how different it must be to have the place crawling with cars. We will go back
next year and do some serious riding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtngirlMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shutdown? What shutdown?”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We don't need no stinkin' car... Just ride your bike! We took our tandems and enjoyed the once in a lifetime experience of riding the entire loop road, including Cadillac, with no cars or tour buses to contend with. This is how it was meant to be enjoyed. Saw quite a few folks doing the same -- lots of bikes parked at the top of Cadillac even.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Loop Road also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Park Loop Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing