We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best campground I've ever been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwoods Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acadia National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwoods Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best campground I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've been tent camping my entire life, from trips with my dad, to outings with the Boy Scouts, to more recently - camping with my own children. I've been to more than a few campgrounds in my day. I've camped in backwood locations, open field areas, beaches, and a variety of state parks/forests.

This is, without a doubt, the single best campground I have ever stayed at. It is reasonably priced, staffed around the clock by NPS rangers, unbelievably clean, and the sites are well laid out - each with really good tree cover and just enough privacy (obviously this varies as with any campground).

If the location, cleanliness, free shuttle service, friendly staff, and reasonable camp rules aren't enough to sell you on the property - there's also an absolutely wonderful "Junior Ranger Program" for the kids.

Although there are no showers on-site, and no on-site store - both are just outside the main gate (the store located in Otter Creek Inn is a fantastic little find!)

Be sure to check out the free shuttle service that regularly picks up / drops off right inside the campground - you can get anywhere on MDI, for free!

Camping at Blackwoods has become a bit of an annual tradition for us, one I see us maintaining for many years to come. If you've never been, and you enjoy tent camping, you really ought to check it out.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a schedule of ranger-led events and try to make one of the late night sessions (usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    87
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

There isn't much to say other than, this place is amazing! It's worth visiting, there's no doubt about it. I went for just one day, but I'm already planning my next trip. It's worth it, I recommend it to anyone who is looking o have a day out of town to wild nature and stunning views.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Merino1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Campground is big, enough for two 4-persona tent. Great utility, restroom and water is close to the camping site. Easy to get firewood, sold for 3 bucks on roadside. It's definitely a great place for family camping

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zheng x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful campground, not too far from the ocean, encased by tall birch trees. The "black woods" do offer thorough shade to all campsites.

WARNING: As we entered the campground, we had to pay an extra $20 "vehicle fee," which surprised us (probably because it was mentioned in the fine print that we ignored when making our campsite reservation) - so the campsite cost twice as much as we anticipated. Why doesn't the NPS just allow you to pay the vehicle fee online when you're paying for your campsite? We may never know.

My husband and I stayed at Blackwoods the Thursday *before* Labor Day, and the campground was PACKED. Not a single site was unoccupied! We were surrounded by RVing family reunion groups, single moms tenting with a few little ones, and hipsters toting bikes and kayaks on their 2013 Subarus.

The over-crowdedness was managable, though. All campers were respectful of their neighbors, and kept their respective noise levels to a minimum (especially after nightfall). The only problem with the lack of privacy was that we couldn't just use the "facili-tree" (if you know what I mean), and we had to use the public restroom. The campground was equipped with plenty of freshwater spigots, and with a dump sink for dishwater, which was a nice touch.

We awoke in our little tent to the sound of a crow cawing back & forth with two children, who mimicked him. We found their little "conversation" hilarious!

All-in-all, a great stay at Acadia. Be sure to book your site in advance!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathryn_mcilvaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

An absolute must to do to really experience camping in Maine! From the exceptional welcome from the Rangers at check in, which included a biscuit of our two dogs, to the free daily armload of firewood and the great buses that cost NOTHING but would take you almost anywhere, there was very little downside to staying at Blackwoods. Although the assigned site for our first visit was not as level as we would have liked, we found out that the earlier you showed up the day of your reservation the better your chance for a better site selection. With our second reservation we went armed with a list of campsites we'd liked over our previous site however all were already occupied. But the new site we were assigned was perfect, flat, large and pretty private although it was next door to part of the trail to the sea. Now you must realize there is NO cell service in the park, no wireless that we could get to work (we had 3 different cell services and 2 wireless) and we couldn't get a single TV channel due to the trees. It's best to walk to the Rangers at the gate to get the daily forecast so you'll know how to dress for your adventures. Lots of nice walks, hikes and beautiful scenery. The other campers are interactive which is great, everyone will share with you what they did that day, biking, hiking, eating or just chilling! The bathrooms were plentiful and clean but remember, no hot water or showers. There are commercial showers on the main road that you can walk up to but you may want to time it so you can catch the bus back to the campground. There is no electricity or water at the sites but generators are allowed to be run within a very generous window of time daily. Everyone obeyed quiet time at night but there was one RV that just had to have the generator on a little early so they could get their coffee made! Can't wait to be able to schedule our next long vacation and go back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We camped here for three days, and loved it. The sites are on the smaller side, but still fit our 8 man tent, a screen house, 4 chairs and a truck. Quite hours were adhered to which was great as we have a young child and go to bed early and getup early. Camp sites were nice and shaded and we notices most sites were very close to the restrooms, which are well maintained. The shuttle bus come to the campground and you can go just about anywhere in ANP or Bar Harbor with a few transfers. We found this feature extremely helpful. There are ranger led programs at night, though we never seemed to get back in time to participate. The rangers are very helpful and the station sells detailed trail maps. There are no showers, but there is a shower house right up the road and they have hot showers for $2 for 4 minutes. We look forward to coming here again. Although it was a full campground all three nights, you never got that impression as it was quiet, and no heavy traffic. There is a board up outside of the front ranger station that gives you the weather, tides, and other information each day. That was helpful in planning our sunrise and sunset hikes, as well as the best time for my son to title pool. Great place and 20 bucks to camp each night. Family and budget friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The bad: The rangers pick your campsite, there are no showers, there is only cold water in the sinks in the bathroom and you have to press the little button over and over to wash your hands or face, they have rules about quiet hours but nobody enforced them and our first night we were kept awake by our noisy neighbors. You know what else? We had the bad luck to have some sarcastic park rangers on duty. I could never tell if they were really answering my questions or making fun of me for asking what they considered stupid questions. Not nice.
The good: Our campsite wasn't too close to anybody else (except for the noisy people, obviously!) the campground is in a terrific location - close to park loop road, the stables, bar harbor,etc., the bathrooms were pretty clean, there is a pay-to-shower place nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edanddebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acadia National Park
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
6.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.9 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwoods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwoods Campground

Property: Blackwoods Campground
Address: Route 3, five miles south of Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Acadia National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Acadia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round campgrounds at Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwoods Campground Hotel Acadia National Park
Blackwoods Campground Acadia National Park, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing