We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acadia National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwoods Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Campground is big, enough for two 4-persona tent. Great utility, restroom and water is close to the camping site. Easy to get firewood, sold for 3 bucks on roadside. It's definitely a great place for family camping

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank zheng x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Blackwoods Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful campground, not too far from the ocean, encased by tall birch trees. The "black woods" do offer thorough shade to all campsites.

WARNING: As we entered the campground, we had to pay an extra $20 "vehicle fee," which surprised us (probably because it was mentioned in the fine print that we ignored when making our campsite reservation) - so the campsite cost twice as much as we anticipated. Why doesn't the NPS just allow you to pay the vehicle fee online when you're paying for your campsite? We may never know.

My husband and I stayed at Blackwoods the Thursday *before* Labor Day, and the campground was PACKED. Not a single site was unoccupied! We were surrounded by RVing family reunion groups, single moms tenting with a few little ones, and hipsters toting bikes and kayaks on their 2013 Subarus.

The over-crowdedness was managable, though. All campers were respectful of their neighbors, and kept their respective noise levels to a minimum (especially after nightfall). The only problem with the lack of privacy was that we couldn't just use the "facili-tree" (if you know what I mean), and we had to use the public restroom. The campground was equipped with plenty of freshwater spigots, and with a dump sink for dishwater, which was a nice touch.

We awoke in our little tent to the sound of a crow cawing back & forth with two children, who mimicked him. We found their little "conversation" hilarious!

All-in-all, a great stay at Acadia. Be sure to book your site in advance!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathryn_mcilvaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

An absolute must to do to really experience camping in Maine! From the exceptional welcome from the Rangers at check in, which included a biscuit of our two dogs, to the free daily armload of firewood and the great buses that cost NOTHING but would take you almost anywhere, there was very little downside to staying at Blackwoods. Although the assigned site for our first visit was not as level as we would have liked, we found out that the earlier you showed up the day of your reservation the better your chance for a better site selection. With our second reservation we went armed with a list of campsites we'd liked over our previous site however all were already occupied. But the new site we were assigned was perfect, flat, large and pretty private although it was next door to part of the trail to the sea. Now you must realize there is NO cell service in the park, no wireless that we could get to work (we had 3 different cell services and 2 wireless) and we couldn't get a single TV channel due to the trees. It's best to walk to the Rangers at the gate to get the daily forecast so you'll know how to dress for your adventures. Lots of nice walks, hikes and beautiful scenery. The other campers are interactive which is great, everyone will share with you what they did that day, biking, hiking, eating or just chilling! The bathrooms were plentiful and clean but remember, no hot water or showers. There are commercial showers on the main road that you can walk up to but you may want to time it so you can catch the bus back to the campground. There is no electricity or water at the sites but generators are allowed to be run within a very generous window of time daily. Everyone obeyed quiet time at night but there was one RV that just had to have the generator on a little early so they could get their coffee made! Can't wait to be able to schedule our next long vacation and go back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We camped here for three days, and loved it. The sites are on the smaller side, but still fit our 8 man tent, a screen house, 4 chairs and a truck. Quite hours were adhered to which was great as we have a young child and go to bed early and getup early. Camp sites were nice and shaded and we notices most sites were very close to the restrooms, which are well maintained. The shuttle bus come to the campground and you can go just about anywhere in ANP or Bar Harbor with a few transfers. We found this feature extremely helpful. There are ranger led programs at night, though we never seemed to get back in time to participate. The rangers are very helpful and the station sells detailed trail maps. There are no showers, but there is a shower house right up the road and they have hot showers for $2 for 4 minutes. We look forward to coming here again. Although it was a full campground all three nights, you never got that impression as it was quiet, and no heavy traffic. There is a board up outside of the front ranger station that gives you the weather, tides, and other information each day. That was helpful in planning our sunrise and sunset hikes, as well as the best time for my son to title pool. Great place and 20 bucks to camp each night. Family and budget friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The bad: The rangers pick your campsite, there are no showers, there is only cold water in the sinks in the bathroom and you have to press the little button over and over to wash your hands or face, they have rules about quiet hours but nobody enforced them and our first night we were kept awake by our noisy neighbors. You know what else? We had the bad luck to have some sarcastic park rangers on duty. I could never tell if they were really answering my questions or making fun of me for asking what they considered stupid questions. Not nice.
The good: Our campsite wasn't too close to anybody else (except for the noisy people, obviously!) the campground is in a terrific location - close to park loop road, the stables, bar harbor,etc., the bathrooms were pretty clean, there is a pay-to-shower place nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank edanddebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are lots of campsites here but we still felt like we had a lot of privacy. The bathrooms are fine. There aren't any showers inside the campground, but just outside the entrance to the campground is a place where you can pay to shower (very nice and clean). There are strict rules about quiet hours and what is and isn't allowed in the campground (bikes are OK, but scooters are not). We appreciate the quiet hours rules since we had younger children with us. We didn't attend any ranger-led campfire programs, but evidently they do run them. The shuttle that runs through Acadia has a stop right in the campground which is pretty convenient and it takes about 15-20 minutes to drive to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this campground. The spot was chosen by the staff upon our arrival at the entrance of the campground. They at least listened to our request that we get a spot near a trail that would take us to the coastal viewing spot. Our camp spot was clean and flat. The fire pit was spotless with no leftover ash and trash from the previous occupants. There were enough trees between camp spots to give us some privacy. Restrooms were well maintained and not too far of a walk. We didn't take advantage of the free shuttle bus that stopped at the campground check in but appeared to be on a regular schedule. Firewood and most of any last minute items were located close by but it's much easier to check you're list and make sure you brought any items you might need. For such a busy place, I thought that it was a nice place a not noisy after dark. Worth visiting again in my book.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acadia National Park
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwoods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwoods Campground

Address: Route 3, five miles south of Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Acadia National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Acadia National Park
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round campgrounds at Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwoods Campground Hotel Acadia National Park
Blackwoods Campground Acadia National Park, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing