We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time, and we will probably be back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwoods Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acadia National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwoods Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Third time, and we will probably be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We are repeat visitors to Acadia National Park and Blackwoods Campground, and we recommend the area to many of our friends each year.

When I was younger (about a decade ago) I used to spend a lot of time in British Columbia camping in Provincial and National Parks all along Canada's West Coast and in the Rocky and the Coastal Mountains. Blackwoods and Acadia are the closest thing to that experience that I have been able to find on the East Coast.

The campground is well treed, clean sites, many of the sites have a great deal of privacy (although not all, so try to be picky when you reserve.)

The park is nicely located far enough from Bar Harbor that you are able to feel like you are really out in the great outdoors, but close enough for a quick drive in if you want to go see a movie or to get some ice cream for the kids. The carriage roads and hiking trails are all easily accessible on the Island Explorer shuttle, or by car if you want, and you can also get to some of the smaller communities on Mount Desert Island easily.

We usually use Blackwoods as a base-camp and spend our mornings hiking, afternoons either in town, or at Sand Beach or Echo Lake.

The only drawback to the campground is the lake of showers, although the pay-shower place by the park entrance is a feasible (though not amazing) option.

The park staff are friendly, although the last time we stayed (this summer) we had a problem with some rowdies, 8 20-22 year old guys in for a week of partying and staying up all night chugging alcohol and yelling at each other. We had a site VERY close to theirs (8-12 feet) with no trees between the two sites, so we were treated to a front row seat. We complained several different days at the front office, but saw no action taken by the park staff to quiet the guys down. Finally I had to go out myself at 1am on what turned out to be the 4th and last night of the guys' stay and treat them to an expletive-laced blast of my unhappiness. It was the third time I had talked to them about the noise, and my opinion when a person staying on a site has to go out and confront a group of 8 over-sized and very drunk young men by himself three nights in a row it shows a serious lack on the part of the park staff.

This was the first year we had the problem though, and after the guys left things went fine, so the hope is that it was an anomaly.

All-in-all a decent little place. Although book early because in the peak season reservations are almost impossible to get, and bring quarters for taking your showers. Maybe a tarp for under the tent as well, as the gravel of the sites will really do a number on the bottom of your tent.

At less than $30 a night though, you can't really go wrong.

Room Tip: Book early, and check a park map before making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Montravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    87
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here in a 33' fifth wheel and enjoyed our stay. Mostly tents and small rigs, not the best for big rigs. Great ranger program and nite sky. No hookups.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikedemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Simply put, this Campground is inexpensive, very clean, and has beautiful (very private) campsites. It is located right next to the coast and very near the main hiking trails. Try to reserve in advance if at all possible, since sites fill up very quickly. We didn't make reservations and so had to wait in line every morning to get another day at the campground. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank W0nderb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the campground for 3 nights with my husband and two dogs. The check-in was really quick for us but we had reservations made in advance. We were in the A loop. The campground was full the entire time we were there but you would never know. It was VERY quiet at night. The bathrooms were clean but like others said bring soap and handtowel. The showeres were right outside the campground. I felt they were pricey for $ 2.00 for 4 min however they were clean and never a line. We did have neighbors on all sides and there wasn't much privacy but everyone was quiet and respectful. I would recommend this place to anyone. However if you want more ameneties this isn't your place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryrausch25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at Blackwoods for 5 nights from a Sunday-Friday. Check-in was a little slow, but the woman checking you in was very friendly and helpful, answering any questions you might have. Finding the campsites is easy and everything is clearly marked. Our campsite was a great size, it fit both of our tents and a screen tent we put around the picnic table. Some sites seemed a little on the small side, but unless you have a huge tent, it should work for most people. We had a lot of families with kids around us, but everyone observed the quiet hours and was respectful of the other campers.
While we didn't use it, one of the great perks at the campground is the free bus that will take you all over the island. I think you had to connect to another bus to get to some of the locations, but if you don't want to have to drive everywhere it's a great option.
Bathrooms were clean but, as other people have mentioned, it's a great idea to bring soap and a hand towel. Showers are not in the campground but close by, and it is a lot at $2 for 4 minutes, but they're for the most part clean and always seemed to have hot water.
Blackwoods is in a great location compared to the entrances to the park, there are 2 that are pretty close by and will lead you towards either side of the park. What's also great is the entrance from Blackwoods to the South Summit trail up Cadillac Mountain. We hiked it our last day and it was great to be right back at the campground and not have to drive back.
Overall, it was a great place to stay for only $20 a night. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend time in the National Park without having to spend a lot of money.

Room Tip: Make reservations as far ahead as you can, the campground was full everynight we were there and seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faljg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We love to travel to Bar Harbor in the early Fall. The weather is perfect and there's enough activity to keep us busy all week since our stay is usually around 5-6 days. However, there's enough peace and quiet to enjoy what Maine really has to offer... getting away from the stress of life.

We love tent camping and Blackwoods is a wonderful place to go. We're repeat customers. The campground is always maintained by rangers to get in and out who stress the concept of "Leave No Trace". They offer lots of useful information about Acadia. You're far enough off the road not to see glaring lights down the main drive and if you like it dark at night... Blackwoods is definitely the perfect name for this spot.

They have amenities for campers, RVs and tents. There are clean bathrooms with sinks, outlets and toilet stalls within a brief walk from your spot. Reserving a spot is very easy online on the DNR site and is VERY inexpensive at $20/night. Right outside of Blackwoods' entrance is a nice bathhouse with coin operated showers run by a local who we met a few times and is very nice, courteous and keeps the men's and women's bathrooms clean. There's plenty of room to dress, hang towels, private shower stalls stepping outside of the showers and electrical outlets, mirrors and toilet. When we were there last it was $1 for 4 minutes for a shower. Just line up your quarters to toss them in for another 4 minutes since its within easy reach while you're still IN the shower. I never had a cold shower there either, although I recommend trying some "alternate" times to use it... early or later morning... skip the usual "rush hour" around 9am.

Blackwoods isn't far from town, although you definitely need a car to get anywhere. Once in town, there's places for wood and other camp supplies, so you don't have to worry about forgetting anything. Since it is a small town though, don't expect things to be open as they are further south in the crazy business corridor between NY and DC. ;)

We'll continue to reserve our spot to tent camp at Blackwoods in the future. It offers us everything camping these days should offer as far as comforts, but it also let's you experience nature.

And P.S. Do NOT leave food outside of your site. We did hear "running" of wildlife outside at 3am. We're still not sure what we heard, but we're glad the cooler was in the car. Respect Maine and the wildlife you're borrowing from those that live there year-round. Clean up and definitely "leave no trace" so the rest of us can continue to love it up there too.

Room Tip: Quiet, nature, amenities and an escape for a steal per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I camped for 3 nights in a small (14 foot) camper on site B62. This site had only 1 neighbor that wasn't all that close. You can't reserve a particular site and certain sites were a little closer than I would have been happy with but the place was SOOO quiet. Quiet hours start at 10pm but even by 9 we would see very few fires going and hear very little noise. They asked us to keep the fires low and contained and at one point we saw a small fire truck driving around checking as the danger was high when we visited. there were two bathrooms within a close walking distance and were the cleanest I have ever seen at a campground (just remember to bring your own soap).
This is a great campground for active families who want to enjoy the outdoor playground that Acadia has to offer but children who have come to expect pools, playgrounds, arts/crafts or such activities may be dissapointed. You can check out the nightly talks given by rangers on sight. Although you can walk to the ocean it is a little bit of a drive for a swim at Sand beach, and good luck with parking. Your best bet might be the free shuttle bus running every 30 min from the campground.
Check in was slow, once you pull your car up you have to fill out paperwork, would be nice if they handed out the form to the nexxt 3 or 4 people in line.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acadia National Park
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
5.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwoods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwoods Campground

Property: Blackwoods Campground
Address: Route 3, five miles south of Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Acadia National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Acadia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round campgrounds at Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwoods Campground Hotel Acadia National Park
Blackwoods Campground Acadia National Park, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing