We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The movie is worth the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia National Park's Hulls Cove Visitors Center

Acadia National Park's Hulls Cove Visitors Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Center offering visitors an audio-visual presentation, maps, special events and the opportunity to talk to rangers.
Maryland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The movie is worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The movie at the visitors' center gives a good overview, as does the topographical map. It is a helpful place to stop, even if it is just to pico up a map of the park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ResearcherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    144
    50
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't forget to pay....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It costs $20 to just drive through the park. This isn't obvious and only because my husband had read about it did we realise. It is a lot of money if you are just driving round once like we did, but worth it if you are staying a week as the permit lasts that long.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank myislandhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go Ahead and Stop In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The huge map of the park is always cool to see; that's the main reason I stop in at national park visitor centers. And while there were several rangers there giving advice, not all of them were as friendly as I thought they should be. I, too, have worked in the park service so I know what it is like to answer the same question 100 times a day, but a shower and a smile would have been nice!! The short movie about the park was also very informative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marfishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unique welcome center!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I visit alot of national parks, and always stop at the visitors centers to watch the movie if they have one and check out exhibits. This center is quite unique, as you will park at the bottom of a hill and then take a short hike up a hill wandering through trees and some outdoor exhibits along the way. Be sure to learn about what cairns are! They do show a movie about the park, and have limited exhibits, bookstore, the usual for a park center. Acadia National Park was a unique experience and not what I was expecting. The loop road was great for a tourist on a limited time schedule, and we stopped several times to wander out among the rocks and shoreline. Photo ops are everywhere!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCitytraveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having been to all the National Parks west of Colorado, this center was way under par. Small and didn't seem to have any sort of theme and very limited exhibits. If you can't make the stop you are not going to miss much

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadia National Park's Hulls Cove Visitors Center also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia National Park's Hulls Cove Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing