We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Life changing hike

Where to start with this??? I clearly did not do my research on this one. This trail is by far for... read more

Reviewed June 7, 2019
daniellessss
,
Dallas, Texas
My favorite trail in the world

I've hiked the California Sierra, Alaska, parts of the AT...literally all over the US...and this is... read more

Reviewed April 13, 2019
DaveR3232
,
Lexington, Kentucky
Read all 232 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Acadia National Park
from $35.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
205
17
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
205
17
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iron rungs fear of heights parking lot nesting season challenging hike peregrine falcon fun challenge cliff face take your time hiking boots youtube videos great workout long drop rock scramble angels landing average shape large boulders
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 232 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This has become one of my favorite trails in the east. Views are similar to others in the park, but the experience is one of a kind! Started this fabulous hike about 4PM on an afternoon in early August. The park itself is very busy this time of year, but there was almost nobody on the trail at this time of the day. The trail has progressively more iron rungs and ladders as you climb. If you are not comfortable with the ones at the beginning of the trail, you may not want to proceed as the ones at the top are on more open and exposed rock faces. This trail is a great accomplishment for any hiker who completes the challenge. Made a round round trip up Precipice and return via Black and Orange Trail to the bottom of Precipice Trail and back to the parking area in about two hours moving at a good brisk pace.

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank NittanyLi0nFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love the Precipice Trail for the big effort in a short distance. When we don't have a lot of time we can still get a great workout in a gorgeous place. It's only a mile to the top but some of it is straight up with all different types of terrain. Views from the top are great and there are two loops possible with a little road walking to get back to the parking lot. Enjoy!

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

In fairness, I must admit to not ever hiking this trail. But I thought I'd add that a college kid slipped and fell to her death several weeks ago. (Google for details.) It was the first Precipice fatality in more than several decades. Just a reminder that this is a very dangerous hike.

Date of experience: August 2012
5  Thank Harrylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This trail is not closed due to earthquake as the header said. We come to Mount Desert Island every year for vacation and for most of the last 25 years this trail has been closed during July and August for Prregrine Falcons that have been nesting there. This is a non technical climb, so it is not your average day hike and not for the faint of heart. There are lots of iron rungs and ladders attached to the rock and it is basically a vertical. It has spectacular views and is well worth the effort.

Thank Tjmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Finally got to hike the Precipice after years of visiting when the trail was closed due to nesting Peregrine falcons. A varied, challenging hike over boulders, along cliff faces and up iron rungs. Do not attempt this trail without proper footwear or unless you're in good physical shape. This is a fantastic example of Acadian trail building and a terrific experience with the right preparation. I took the Orange and Black trail from the summit, and this provided a challenging hike in its own right: lots of granite steps and up-and-down grades to navigate. Fantastic views from the top of Champlain mountain make this a truly unique hike, and I'm thrilled I could log this one in my "Walk in the Woods" Mt. Desert trail guide!

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank wwpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews