We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (3,096)
Filter reviews
2,981 results
Traveler rating
2,506
420
45
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,506
420
45
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar harbor highest point sunrise or sunset degree view the sun rise porcupine islands united states gift shop amazing views parking spot walk around parking space worth the trip easy drive the east coast plenty of parking visiting acadia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,981 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Cadillac mountain gave me the feeling of "freedom and being fully alive" There are many beautify places in the world and this is one that deserves the accolade. You need to be able to get around pretty well as the are is rocky with rocky paths and inclines and declines. Summer - Fall would be best travel times. It can be chilly there even then, so plan on taking a jacket, your camera and hiking stick for a truly delightful experience.

Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

Cadillac Mountain provides the most amazing views of the entire Bar Harbor area. Highly recommend a visit to the summit!

Thank DianaSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

We went during the daytime and it was a beautiful view, but the more memorable trip was at night after the stars came out. My 7 year old is still talking about all the stars he was able to see, and my husband was able to some very nice night photography. If you go at night make sure to bring a blanket to lay back on, and try to use a red light instead of a regular light so you don't ruin your night vision.

Thank karrieal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a bus tour if Arcadia Park. One of stops was Cadillac Mountain. Even though it
Was raining we still liked the fall colors and view. Also the water spouts were better then
I had read and seen on the internet

Thank rileypickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

After hiking the carriage trails in Acadia, a drive to the top of Cadillac mountain provides an excellent view of Bar Harbor from above. Several excellent motels along the edge of Acadia park provide walking access to the park.

Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is windy and can be chilly but from the stars to the water you can see forever. Hike drive walk run it is amazing was there in spring and fall and so spectacular! Go and see true beauty!

Thank fez0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove to the top on a rainy afternoon.... ummmm don't bother if you want to see the views, you can't. However the drive up there in the fall was just lovely with all the different leaf colours. Not detered we got up at 3am travelled to top of mountain for 4.15am & sat in the freezing wind until a 6.10am sunrise. Amazing experience it was too & well worth a few hrs lost sleep. The views were amazing. Not many hard core sitting there really early but omg did the last minute sunrise brigade arrive.... about 5.40am hundreds of bodies appeared, some not thinking for a moment to stand right in front of those already in a front row seat (seat being a rock).... who had been there for a couple of hrs!!! Just a thought plse.
The arcidia park is just beautiful. We didn't get to stop for long & other than Jordon Pond do any hiking which was disappointing, purely because of our schedule ... but from what i saw it would be well worth some time being put aside to spend on the hiking trails.

Thank D0ryDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

1,500 feet above Bar Harbor lies Cadillac Mountain the highest point in Acadia National Park. As the guides will tell you, it is the first place in the continental USA to see the sun rise. From the top I saw cruise ships in the bay tendering passengers ashore, lobstermen tending their traps, other Maine Islands, as well as unclose views of wild flowers and shrubs. Other reviewers will fill in gaps in my review. Do not miss the opportunity to visit Cadillac Mountain and learn its history.

Thank sentellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great walk among the pink granite of the mountain. Fantastic views even though the leaves were not at their peak colour. Loved it - felt so pristine, and it was lovely being surrounded by so much nature.

Thank ElsieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Both of the Cadillac Mountain ridge trails are beautiful. The south ridge trail is longer but not as steep as a climb. We are regular hikers, even with an 8 year old in tow. Do not be fooled, the south trail is not steep but it’s not easy either. Roughly 2 miles from the campground is forest hiking and definitely recommend doing it. The last 2 miles is above the tree line so you have no shade from the sun and it is a steady ascent to the top. Even with snacks, water packs and regular breaks, we were exhausted by the time we got to the top.

Unless you an avid hiker, I would not suggest either one of the ridge trails. If you can handle it, they are great hikes.

Thank onecoolraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews