We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time your visit for the best impact!”
Review of Thunder Hole

Thunder Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chasm surrounded by water and gardens.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Time your visit for the best impact!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

It was somewhere near low tide when we visited, so the impact of Thunder Hole wasn't as dramatic as it could have been. There are steep steps (with handrail) going down to a closer point to view Thunder Hole. It made me nervous to see a lot of people (adults and children) who jumped the barriers and went out on the surrounding rocks/ledges, I guess for the fun of it, or for photo opportunities. I actually had to leave, as every year there are major injuries here and even death for reasons just like this...I just couldn't watch! :(

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    176
    137
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick stop ”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Worthwhile stop. We could hear the thunder while we were there. Don't know what time is the best to go but our timing worked out. Plenty of parking for this quick stop!

Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
438 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“no thunder on our visit - but, still fun to look at and beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

WE went as recommended - about an 90 mins before high tide - others were there longer and said nothing had happened - I guess it needs to be more stormy out in sea for there to be a loud thunder.
Be careful this is a very dangerous place and you need to keep a close eye on your kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank beardogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you can, try to go when it is high tide vs. low tide. But if you can't, it is still worth seeing. Great place to stop to take pictures and just enjoy the sounds of the ocean hitting the rocks. Very peaceful. Dog friendly too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great timing = Great spot!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Thunder Hole is lackluster UNLESS you get there at the right time! Aim for 1-2 hours before high tide. If you're lucky you'll experience the sea spray too. Either way, neat spot to see!

Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Hole also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Thunder Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing