We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood Stables

Wildwood Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stables that offer one- and two-hour carriage rides in Acadia National Park.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had such a good time on our carriage ride. The tour guide was full of great information. The carriage roads are beautiful and this is the best way to explore them! The staff at the stables is great as well. We had an issue with an item we lost at some point on our trip and they went out of their way to see if we had left it at the stables, even posting a lost sign for us. The carriage rides are very popular so definitely make a reservation ahead of time. Even if the weather isn't the best, you'll still have a good time. It was very foggy when we went and it was still beautiful on the roads!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank introspectionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    17
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ride Through Acadia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a very nice carriage ride. The horses seemed to have a pretty good life and the guide seemed to know a lot about the area (from what little we could hear). The downside with our experience: Carriage was very cramped. It would be better with 8 people instead of 10. Couldn't hear the driver much of the time. We had wanted to take a 2 hour tour but everything was booked up except the one tour we got on. Tours seemed to routinely start late (10 to 30 minutes after the advertised time). I would much rather have been on horseback. Wish they had this as an option.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tgussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice tour but a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely day in Acadia. Arranged for ride independant of Cruise ship. Took a cab to Wildwood which was a nice ride in itself. We booked a 2 hour tour and got our moneys worth. Our driver, I believe his name was George was a local farmer and worked part time as a driver. What a character and a great Maine accent. He used his own team of Belgian horses, big beautiful team who were extremely well trained. Could have done with a bit more riding and a bit less talking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way to see the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We did the "Day Mountain Summit - The Sunset Ride - Two Hours". It was great and allowed us to understand some history of the park and see quite a bit of scenery. It was two hours, and I think little kids would get bored after awhile, so if you have little kids, you might want to do one of the one-hour rides. They had some blankets to help stay warm but make sure you bundle up if you're going in the fall or spring - be prepared for all types of weather. Our driver was Grace and her horses were Rex and Toby, and it was just fun to learn about the horses personalities, too. She had to remind Toby to pull his weight, saying "Step it up, Toby!" And now we use that phrase whenever one of us is lagging behind on anything! :)

Also, there are no bathrooms along the way, only where you depart, so you might want to limit your water intake some.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dpbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Peaceful carriage ride in the Fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a comfortable 1 hour tour with Katie and her team Belle and Bright. Horses were well cared for and rested often. I love watching the scenery with only the sound of hoof beats and creaking leather as a counterpoint. Katie was friendly and knowledgable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DrCindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Stables also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Wildwood Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing