We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not choose anywhere else to stay”
Review of Arkadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arkadia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kypseli
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“do not choose anywhere else to stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is simply the best. the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. The apartments are first rate, clean and have all you could need. The surrounding area is fantastic and the sea just amazing, only 5 munutres away. If you want somewhere to completely relax, this is the place. the weather is very hot in August of course, but it does make you even more inclined to enjoy your surroundings & the best greek salad we have ever tasted!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    33
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
82
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the lovely lovely Arkadia in August this year for 2 weeks. We were in Zante to get married and so along with ourselves 20 of our guests also stayed here...and every single one of us LOVED it!

The hotel is set in such lovely surroundings with the sea to one side and the mountains to the other and olive groves all around. It is such a lovely peaceful location but not totally isolated. There are 3 restaurants in walking distance including the Fabulous Vardiola (where we also had our wedding reception) and the fish taverna which is really rustic and lots of locals were there. At the vardiola there is also a lovely little beach which has free sun loungers on the grassy area. This is only about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel itself is wonderful, lovely spacious rooms with big balconies overlooking the sea and the mountains. The pool is a great place to cool off when the heat becomes to much and in all the time we were there was never crowded and had plenty of sunloungers for all.

The best thing about the hotel though has to be Marry and Agelos who made is so welcome from start to finish. Aggelos met us at the airport and an unearthly hour and did everything they could to make us feel at home from there on in. We had several meals at the hotel all prepared by the wonderful Marry....her cooking is out of this world and she is a lovely and warm host. While we were there we had a pre wedding BBQ for our guests the night before the wedding...this was a BBQ like no other...so much delicious food which never seemed to run out and all cooked by Aggelos....and then lots of the staff had us all up Greek Dancing which was a lot of fun. All the staff at the hotel were so friendly and fun....Ana and Georgia the lovely ladies behind the bar kept our Mythos topped up even in the wee small hours and were always so friendly and cheerful. And the lovely ladies who made up our rooms everyday where always happy to chat and also so friendly.

During our stay we had a car for the duration which Aggelos arranged for us and it is a good idea if you want to explore this beautiful island.

All in all this was a perfect holiday made all the more perfect by our wonderful hosts and fabulous hotel...The Arkadia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hantsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Agree with all the reviews - this is a fab hotel and deserves recognition. Mary and Angelos and their lovely daughters made us so very welcome, as they do for all their guests. The hotel is set in such peaceful rural surroundings, yet close to the sea - which we loved, Angelos kindly met us at the airport and arranged a car which we would recommend for seeing the island. The rooms are big with lovely balconies and kept extremely clean every day by the hard working staff. Mary's homemade food was excellent and the bar staff very very friendly, where we spent lovely evenings chatting to other guests. We loved the greek family feel and met so many different people from all parts of the globe! Tsivili is 10 mins by car with numerous restaurants,shops and water park. We very rarely repeat holidays but will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

“ It's a family run hotel and we read reviews about the hospitality of the couple Angelos and Mary and we were not disappointed.We were treated like family. Hotel wasn't busy so very cosy. Very impressed with the service and cleanliness.all rooms have a small kitchen area wuth stove and fridge freezer. ”

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Ya ssou Arkadia!
What a beautiful, traditional and welcoming place with excellent hosts Angelos and his gorgeous wife Mary!! Excellent homemade food cooked everyday, and the stunning fish and meat BBQ's were also delicious. This place is really beautiful and peaceful, set within very Greek rural surroundings, a great place for relaxing and a great base for sightseeing. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean everyday, thank you to the cleaners, as they came everyday like clockwork. What a wonderful family business, it felt like home from home, we really can't wait to return! However, we would recommend a rented vehicle as it is a great way to get around the island, and there are so many fantastic sights to see. Rentals can be sorted out by Angelos once you get to the hotel. If you are reading this thankyou to the big man Angelos, Mary who makes the best Mousakka & cake, Claus thankyou for all the interesting discussions (hope you are enjoying the book?), thank you to the lovely Georgia (who also makes great pizza!!!), and the girlies behind the bar. We thought all of your hospitality was wonderful, and thankyou very much for making our stay so welcoming!! Hope to see you all next year!
Ya ssou!!
Lots of love Terrie and Jamie xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just back from our second holiday at the Arkadia and again it did not disappoint.
So relaxing and comfortable with amazing staff, great food and great fun. Angelos and Mary must be the best hosts you could find on a holiday. It feels as though you are staying at their home, not their hotel.
The quality of the food is fantastic, we would recommend the baked Feta which was fantastic.
A special word of thanks to the staff especially Georgia and Anna and an especially big thanks to Angelos again for his fantastic sense of humour.
We will be back, no doubt about that.
One word of caution, don't mention the "green" football team in Greece.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhoys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just returned from the Arkadia. The hotel is as per the web site - high quality and spotlessly clean. There is also a quiet pool that at some times of the day you could end up having to yourself. Although about 500m from the nearest sea bathing area (the Vardiolas Taverna), this is a lovely, peaceful spot with clean water, free sunbeds, toilet facilities and a beach bar. Above the beach bar is a taverna, which has great food and spectacular sun set views over Kefalonia. The Arkadia management and staff are very friendly and the free transport from and to the airport is a definate bonus. Thanks also to Klaus (business partner of the owner) for his friendly manner and free transport back from Tsilivi (the main nearest resort (4'ish miles) and back to the airport.
I would recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet, quality and a traditional Greek atmosphere. If you want any more than what is available locally, you will need to hire a car. Definately not for the clubbers!!
Thanks again
Steve & June

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view but some have a front of hotel panorama view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sholt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kypseli
6.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#6 of 27 in Argassi
255 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#1 of 1 in Agios Kirikos
215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkadia Hotel

Property: Arkadia Hotel
Address: Kypseli 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kypseli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kypseli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arkadia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkadia Hotel & Apartments is a newly built hotel complex (June 2005) in Zante Zakynthos Greece. Comprised of 2 luxury two – bedrooms suites with Jacuzzi, 8 luxury two – bedrooms suites and 8 deluxe rooms, one bedroom suites ready for unforgettable holidays in our island. The creation of a genuine family atmosphere alongside with a friendly, relaxing environment is our most warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arkadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkadia Hotel Tsilivi
Arkadia Hotel Zakynthos/Kypseli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing