We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By misleading lunch offer”
Review of Varkarola

Varkarola
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Zakynthos Town
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the website it advertise individual appetizer, individual salad, individual mail and wine for 7.50 euro, however when we went it was 9 euro and only included salad starter and main. that was not the real problem, I did not have an issue with the wine not being included or a couple of euro dearer. What I took issue with was it was not individual at all, it was set menu of Greek salad, tomato soup and meat balls in tomato sauce. This was totally misleading advertisement to get you in the door. Not only that but the food was poor quality and not in par with any of the restaurants that we had eaten at. The only reason we decided to stay and eat the SET menu was because we were to embarrassed to get up after sitting down with menu and having a drink and being told awkwardly when we tried to order different dishes from the mains that it was not included. Be careful. If u decide to go here and do not get caught out like us

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pomaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit here.We stumbled across this lovely taverna by accident 2 years ago...and what a find! If you want an experience away from the usual tourist based places, this is for you. The place is primarily used by locals, so thats got to tell you something! Food is great and the music fantastic! Father, sons, friends all play together and its PROPER greek and local based music, you wont find Zorba the Greek here! If we could aford to do it, we would come here every night! Lovely family, great service, keep it up, my frienfs!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank adamsmm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came into town for a meal for a change from Kalamaki. This place was recommended by some locals so we thought why not. What a great find. On the front,great food ,good prices and traditional Greek music by some guys who loved what they were doing. We will definitely be coming here again next time we are in Zante. Keep up the good work all.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank househusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to have dinner in Varkarola after passing by one night and saw how busy it was. There was a group of local men playing the guitar and singing Greek and Italian songs. The atmosphere was absolute brilliant and the food unbelievably tasty. As for the portions, simply enormous...the service was excellent and the owner so kind to ask again and again how was the food and actually apologised for not asking immediately if we were happy with what we ordered because he was very busy. That kind of customer service u rarely find in busy touristic (in a positive sense) venues. The next day we visited another restaurant, significantly more expensive, we ordered the same local beef dish which was of a much lower quality then Varkarola’s. Definitely a place to visit

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Skostakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful food, spicy pork gyros and chicken souvlaki. Highly recommend. Wonderful atmosphere with guitar player and good service. Best meal we had in Zakynthos!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank NewlyWedMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varkarola also viewed

Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 

Been to Varkarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing