We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komis Fish Tavern

Komis Fish Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a really lovely evening here, in a beautiful location, the service was excellent and there was a pleasant relaxed atmosphere, the bill was high though compared to other equally good restaurants who are not as good at marketing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    50
    18
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gnesta, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FiWi&co”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We read about Komis here on Trip Advisor before our trip from Sweden to Zakynthos. I am happy we did! So much love in the food! One of the best restaurants we've ever been to. Everything was like a dream. The Dream of A Perfect Greek Fish Tavern: The setting, the many entertaining details in the decoration, all those extra delicate treats and warm surprises while we were waiting for the food: Such as a lovely little soup in a cute cup, a heavenly bruscetta. It kept us so happy. And the food we ordered was incredible. Sardines from heaven! Afterwards we were pampered with a large plate of gorgeous fresh fruits and finally a juicy apple-cinnamon-crême-brulee-tarte. Pure love! Thank you, Komis for giving us a lovely memory for life!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A very different dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were staying in Kalamaki and took the short trip in a taxi to Zakynthos town one evening to dine here having read the tripadvisor reviews. My wife and I were pleased with our choice. What a great little place - it's so different from the rest in so many ways.
The restaurant is located on the edge of the docks. We sat at one of seven or eight tables located under a ramshackled shelter set across from the main restaurant building. It was a fantastic place to eat. We could see the large ferries, smaller boats coming and going and a fisherman standing on the quayside close to where we were sitting. There was something quite charming about it.
We were immediately made to feel like special customers from the moment we stepped from our taxi. We were met by a man, who appeared to be the owner, with a friendly smile and handshake. Minutes after being seated we were provided with 'free' appetisers before being whisked away to choose our fish from an iced fish display in the restaurant. We opted for a fish platter which filled the table when it arrived. My wife ordered a glass of red wine but received a full bottle (house wine contained in a lovely decorated blue bottle). We never bothered to establish if we were to be charged by the glass or had to pay for the bottle so asked for it to be taken away after she had recharged her glass. You may need to keep an eye on prices and precisely what you're paying for and what's on the house - it can get a little confusing at times, but we started to get the hang of it. By the time we'd finished we estimated that our main meal and the couple of drinks would cost about 65-70 Euro's (which it did) and decided not to bother with a dessert. The waiter insisted that we tried their complimentary dessert which was promptly placed before us. It was absolutely gorgeous..
This was not the best meal we had during the week, although it did come close, and was by no means the cheapest, but it was by far the best dining experience. In fairness though I should add that whilst we enjoy fish we are not fish connoisseurs or specialists and we didn't even know what half of the selection was on our platter - we should have asked I suppose!
Komi's is a place I would return to and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 186378Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the most memorable meals we've ever had. The head waiter really knows his fish and will spend time and help you choose. All the staff were so helpful and paid lots of attention to us. The restuarant is gorgeous and the little kitten kept everyone amused. Great experience and a MUST if visiting Zakinthos. Thank You.!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donnapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“"Absolutely perfect' Nostimo poli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went to the restaurant on 12th of September 2012.
Thank you Yiannis for the delicious food and a special evening. Magic..
Komis is a beautiful restaurant overlooking the port. It is a place where you want to stay forever. The mussels and langoustines were so fresh and cooked to perfection.
THANKS!!
Caroline

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komis Fish Tavern also viewed

Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 

Been to Komis Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing