We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Luna di Quarazzana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Luna di Quarazzana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Luna di Quarazzana
Ranked #1 of 12 Fivizzano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Luna di Quarazzana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a little surprised to discover that La Luna is situated 8 kilometres from Fivizzano in the tiny village of Quarazzana, so rural that horses and cows are allowed to wander free in the lanes.
After first driving past what looked like a ruined farmhouse we returned to be met by cheerful, English speaking Illaria, who assured us that we had found the right place before showing us the tasteful renovation her family had made to the buildings while still retaining the original rustic charm.
The highly functional rooms radiate from a courtyard with access to the gardens/grounds with sunbathing facilities and offer wonderful views, especially in the early morning mist.
Choosing to accept the offer of an evening meal was the right decision. Several courses of delicious home cooking, much of which came from the kitchen garden, appeared from the kitchen accompanied by a specially picked wine. A highlight was to taste the gorgeous cheese made by Illaria's father.
It was like having our own private chef. Fantastic experience! Breakfast is no less a feast with home made delights and yet more cheese.
Fivizzano itself is a delightful walled town steeped in history and offering several restaurants, bars and a good supermarket. In the area are several excellent walking opportunities with stunning scenery.
We very much enjoyed recharging batteries in this rural oasis. Highly recommended and won't break the bank.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrekoPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything near the cinque-terre-coastline of Italy seemed to be fully-booked in August, so we decided to look in a broader area. And thankfully we did so, because this way we found La Luna di Quarazzana.
A wonderful hide-away from the busy coastline. A place to unwind.
From a distance the tiny village (with GREAT views!) looks like a ruined-old-village you'd see in old Italian films. But in fact there are some people living here (12 in total). One of them is Ilaria and her husband. They started La Luna a few years ago.
The house is beautifully renovated, rooms are nice and clean (in the morning you'll wake up because of the cowbells of cows that pass by in the village), and there is a very nice little courtyard where you can sit and relax. Or have dinner (for a certain fee Ilaria can prepare a meal for you. It's simple but very tasty).
Breakfast is included, and is a feast. Especially the yummie crostata pie. It's de-li-ci-ous.
Ilaria is a very nice lady and welcoming host. Speaks English very well, which is great for people like us that don't speak Italian (not yet).
We stayed here for 2 nights, but would have loved to stay longer if we'd had the time...
This place might be hard to find but it's really worth the winding road!

Room Tip: Have dinner & wine here. Ilaria is a great cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLu_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want to get away from your busy life, go and visit Illaria and Stefano. Great rooms, very rustic and Stylish. Helpfull and friendly people, great food and a fantastic little village. Not expensive....what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euanhuveneers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything about La Luna di Quarazzana is perfect. We read all the reviews before heading to Fivizzano for a friend's wedding but were overwhelmed by Ilaria's hospitality on our first evening. Both Ilaria and Stefano have quite rightly built an amazing reputation since they converted their old farmhouse to a B&B. You feel like you're at home but with fabulous weather, great wine, boutique-hotel standard accommodation and a heartfelt welcome every single day. There is no comparison in the whole of Fivizzano. This is a must holiday stay. Don't forget to sample Illaria's home cooking - it is wonderful! You'll love it here for so many reasons. Get booking... You won't regret it for a minute!!! Ravi, Paolo, Steph, Allie and Paul

Room Tip: They're all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent a week at this wonderful place.
Nice, quiet and wonderful people. The place is secluded yet close to many exciting sites.
There is only one way to this small village consisting of a few houses, renovated old buildings with a lot of charm

I heartily recommend this place

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were fortune it enough to book this B&B for our stay in Tuscany... it was awesome. Ilaira and her husband Stefano have the rooms and grounds
in excellent condition - always something beautiful to look at - whether it be the magnificent mountains, potted plants or the very old architecture - it is a fantastic place to stay. Ilaria cooked for our group one night of our stay - superb!! One of the best meals we had our entire trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindiWEllman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Two years after my first visit to La Luna di Quarazzana, I returned with friends during a trip through Tuscany. The place is as wonderful as ever: Ilaria's cooking—almost all from ingredients grown on site or from her father's farm—is just as delicious (highlights this time round included a kind of courgette cake and some superb home made cheeses), and the welcome from her, Stefano, Mario, and Elvira just as warm. The buildings are beautiful and beautifully restored; the bedrooms are private, spacious, quiet, clean, nicely decorated, and have fine views of Monte Pisanino; the hamlet of Quarazzana is beautiful and peaceful; and the countryside around it is gorgeous. You may need a detailed map or helpful satnav to get you there, but it will be well worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WTMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fivizzano
2.8 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Miramonti
2.0 mi away
Encanto di Arlia
Encanto di Arlia
#1 of 1 in Arlia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ponte del Vegnuti
Ponte del Vegnuti
#3 of 12 in Fivizzano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Agriturismo Montagna Verde
Agriturismo Montagna Verde
#1 of 7 in Licciana Nardi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Picchio Verde
Il Picchio Verde
#2 of 7 in Licciana Nardi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sicomoro
Sicomoro
#5 of 12 in Fivizzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna di Quarazzana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna di Quarazzana

Property: La Luna di Quarazzana
Address: Via Nardi 16 | Quarazzana, 54013, Fivizzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Fivizzano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fivizzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the deep green of the Lunigiana, not far from the sea of Lerici and the Cinque Terre.In an old country, magically overlooking the Apuan Alps, where time seems to stand still ..You can discover landscapes, flavors and aromas of an intense past.We passionately restored an old farmhouse, now a historic building.An oasis of charm and relaxation:Bed & Breakfast la Luna di Quarazzana The historic building is located in the wild country, it dates back to the sixteenth century, but it is mentioned as early as the fourteenth century when Benedetti, an old local family, gave birth to the rider of Generous Quarazzana Benedetti, brave "homo of arms "in the service of Giovanni Sforza. To be here is an experience..To know Italian lifestyle, food and art.We like share our passions with our guests !"There s a moment to found yourself :sensations , perfumes and taste of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Luna di Quarazzana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing