We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nethermains House

Nethermains House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nethermains House
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilwinning B&B and Inns
jock1401
1 review
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Our stay at Nethermains was faultless and very comfortable. Margaret couldn't do enough for our party and attended to our every need. We had booked into the family room which was very spacious and spotless. Breakfast in the morning was spot on and set us up for another day at the Gymfest!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jock1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
19
29
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
irvine ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Attending a wedding in Irvine, Our stay at Nethermains was absolutely brilliant. Margaret is such a wounderful hostess, nothing was too much bother. Rooms, service and breakfast were 1st class. the perfect place to take a relaxing break after our weekend event. P.S. You don't deserve these negative reviews - some people are never happy., especially the ones who arrived at 11'oclock drunk and disturbed everyone! You were right to turn them away. lookiong forward to going back and will definatley recommend Nethermains to family and friends . Thanks again Margaret & Staff. Mr & Mrs Menzies

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karin003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

Once again a warm and friendly greeting upon arrival. (First time was in the summer) Host(s) couldn't do enough for us. Rooms and food excellent. Made our Wedding Anniversary weekend one to remember, with picture postcard scenes of snow. Very much looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We were treated exceptionally well at this lodge. Margaret even welcomed our relatives when they came to visit. She went out of her way for us. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you, Margaret and your adorable son.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

I couldn’t agree more with the two previous reviews!

The owner of Nethermains Lodge couldn’t have been more unwelcoming! I think she is suffering with a lot more than just amnesia!!

We arrived early to ask whether it would be possible to leave our bikes (as discussed on the telephone when booking) and call back to check in later in the day when the rooms were ready. The owner wasn’t really interested in listening to the fact we weren’t expecting to check in but only interested in shouting aggressively. Eventually, her son opened the garage and we left our bikes and we headed off to see the sights.

On returning, instead of apologising, the owner joked that she was surprised that we had returned to check in. When we said that we considered finding somewhere else, she immediately became aggressive again and said, ‘Maybe you should leave then!’ She stomped over to the garage and started to throw a tantrum while manhandling our bikes out on to the drive. She even had the audacity to ask for a thank you for storing the bikes and accuse me of being rude even though I remained outwardly calm for the whole ordeal.

I can’t comment on the bedroom or the breakfast because we didn’t make it that far!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Whiskers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret C, Owner at Nethermains House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Our check in policy was clearly stated when you booked. As you arrived at 10 am - whilst previous guests were still in their room - I offered to store your cycles in my garage and asked you to return at the correct check in time. When you returned, it was only to collect your cycles as you had booked alternative accommodation that allowed you a check in time earlier that ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welder45
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I would strongly recommend against booking this hotel unless you want to be trailing the streets at 11 o'clock at night on the weekend of the british open trying to find another hotel to stay. Even if you have a booking ref no and an email off the owner to confirm it. The lady seems to have amnesia as she somehow managed to confirm our booking in the oct but forgot that she had already booked the rooms in the august to someone else. So if you really do want to stay here then ring on a weekly basis just so you are not left in the predicament that we were,,having to sleep in the car. Maybe she should rename it Fawlty Towers as it was like a comedy of errors. Not a way to treat anyone, give it a wide berth. There are better places to stay ones where you will be given the room you thought you had booked and be made to feel welcome

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret C, Owner at Nethermains House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Due to our insurance policies we cannot accommodate children under the age of 14 neither can we accommodate more than 2 people in a double room.i
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I cannot believe the other reviews for this accomodation are for the same host- i have never been made to feel so unwelcome or intruding-awful best to avoid!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yorkie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret C, Owner at Nethermains House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Our policy clearly states - We welcome children 14 years and above. For insurance purposes, due to the age of the property, we were unable to accommodate your 5 year old son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilwinning
7.1 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.9 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dalgarven House Hotel
Dalgarven House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilwinning
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethermains House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethermains House

Property: Nethermains House
Address: Nethermains Farm Nethermains Road, Kilwinning KA13 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Kilwinning
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilwinning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethermains House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Nethermains House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethermains House Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing