We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel/ castle in the Lorraine region of France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hattonchatel Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel/ castle in the Lorraine region of France”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences I’ve had so far. The hotel is about 50 km to the west of Metz. The surrounding area is very rural, but the roads leading to the castle are well developed (no chance of getting there by train). My partner and I stayed there for my 40th birthday and because it was off-season we were the only guests in the castle, so it was very quiet. Also because it lies at the end of a small village on top of a hill means there is no noise from cars or other traffic, very peaceful. The room we stayed it was very much decorated in the style you would expect: old furniture, antiques and old fireplace. No TV in the room; that would have destroyed the feeling you get from an old castle. They do have free wireless internet access, so if you can’t be without a connection to the outside world, you can still stay there.

The two hosts, Catherine and Francine, were very attentive and welcoming and did everything to make us feel absolutely at home. As my partner booked a package, we had a private dinner in the “salle de burgraves” of the hotel which is a roughly 200 sqm grand old hall with an enormous fireplace, another memorable experience. Thanks to Fabien for the wonderful courses.

Finally, it’s definitely a recommendation if you want to spend romantic days and night at on castle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JS9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Castle is located in beautiful Loraine district cclose to Metz and the lake with swimming and seasoport facilituies - prefect for the kids.

On the castle we played crocket, the king play (with sticks) and enjoyed the sun getting a teint.

We met the hosts - very friendly couple - "Anita and Claus"- who are very open and polite people telling us where to go. We had a cusy time and got a drink on the terasse and in the historic library. Claus told us about the history of the castle under the former owners who imported silk from the far east a.s.f. and castles function under the wars were they made gold coins under the castle in secret tunnels, protected the village etc.

The local restaurants and the local bakery is in french quality standards - the kids loved the pizza taht we had to gop there twice

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1. floor level with balcony is to recommend - a perfect start on a beautiful day wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were surprised when our daughter and son in law (to be) displayed their plan to marry not in Holland but in France. But now the weeks after the wedding we fully understand their wish. Though the preparations were more elaborate then a local wedding ( made not much difference for the bride and groom resided in Singapore) it was very well to do thanks to the enormous enthousiasm of the staff of the Chateau, Catherine, Francine and Guy. They prepared everything in detail and thanks to the meticulous communication between couple and staff a wonderfull marriage was prepared. The hotel contains very nice accomodations and rooms to have breakfast and residence. The family, witnesses and masters of ceremony arrived friday and stayed for two days in the castle (25 persons) and had a fantastic preparty in the garden thanks to the staff and the nice weather. On saturday the guests (90) arrived in the prebooked hotels on 5, 3 and 0,5 km from the castle. The marriage in the garden was a fairytale and the "champagne" gardenparty was very cosy. At 6 the guests dressed for dinner and ball to be held in the "salle des burgraves" This was a spectacular dinner and ball.
If I may have any critics to the organisation, the serving of the dinner took to long and the music by a DJ was only for the younger though most numerous group.
The couple choosed Champagne Pierson Whitaker as main wine which was a very good choice. This dream wedding weekend came to an end with a magnificent brunch.
Full of fond memories and with many thanks to Catherine, Francine and Guy we travelled home. The catering was good though 115 guests was the ultimate stretch of their capability. The brunch for 25 had far more finesse.
We the proud parents will remember this weekend as "a dream became true" . and as many guests said afterwards well worth the trip. Proffesional photographer Serge Balosso made a wonderfull reportage of the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diderico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

A truly wonderful experience. A very special place to stay. Beautiful building in a wonderful setting. A very warm welcome by Catherine. We almost had the place to ourselves (one other couple booked in for B&B). Great room with huge bathroom and roll-top bath/walk-in shower. Welcoming cup of tea in the library/lounge. Fantastically romantic dinner for two in front of the fire place in the huge dining-hall (all to ourselves) beautifully prepared and presented by our personal chef, Fabian. A great nights sleep and a very satisfying breakfast in another lovely room. Cannot find fault with the experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisandFerhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

A fairy tale castle - it is indeed. The wiev from the castle is stunning and we surely enjoyed the beautiful suites with huge en-suite bath rooms.
But what we will remember the most is the romantic gourmet dinner we enjoyed in the knight hall. We had a private waiter for three hours during the 4 cours meal.

After dinner we were sitting infront of the crackling fireplace enjoying a coffee and cognac, relaxing and talking about things we should have talked about years ago but the dayly stress has prevented us from doing so.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Europeadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We went to stay at the chateau as we had considered this as our wedding venue, until family illness. Everyone was so warm and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. At the time we were the only people staying in the chateau.The rooms are beautiful as are the grounds. What a treat this was and we will recommend this place to everyone who asks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichelleET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

A wedding day to be remembered
The weather was beautiful, the Chateau was stunning and most of our family and some friends was present - and had come all the way from Norway in order to celebrate our romantic castle wedding at the authentic castle Hattonchatel Chateau in Lorraine.

The wedding planner at the castle has made it all possible for us to have our unique wedding and wedding party in France. Everything was arranged for us at arrival - with no extra costs, it was included in the wedding packet.

On behalf of us and our guests we would like to say thank you and the staff for all the help at our wedding venue at Hattonchatel Chateau.

Kind Regards
Terese & Kristoffer

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandoz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
14.3 mi away
Chateau des Monthairons
Chateau des Monthairons
#1 of 1 in Dieue-sur-Meuse
201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac de Madine
Hotel du Lac de Madine
#1 of 1 in Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Meuse
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Me...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Maurice-sous-les-Cotes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
175 reviews
23.8 mi away
Le Village Gaulois
Le Village Gaulois
#5 of 10 in Verdun
147 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel de Montaulbain
Hotel de Montaulbain
#1 of 10 in Verdun
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hattonchatel Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hattonchatel Chateau

Property: Hattonchatel Chateau
Address: Rue du Chateau | Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel- Lorraine, 55210 Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every picture tells a story, no one can perfectly describe the beauty of which this authentic Chateau d`Hattonchâtel portrays. Perched high overlooking the Wöuvre Valley, the French Château Hattonchâtel chateau stands proud on the hillside with its gables, tall chimneys and its pointed towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hattonchatel Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hattonchatel Chateau Hotel Vigneulles-Les-Hattonchatel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing