We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, romantic overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely, romantic overnight stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here with my other half a few weeks ago on a Friday evening. The room we stayed in was overlooking the grounds at the back of the hotel, which were beautifully landscaped. The room was very quiet and well maintained. Our only gripe was that the room could have been a little bit larger, having paid quite alot for just the one night stay here, bearing in mind it is a 4 star rated hotel. We visited the hotel's connecting spa & leisure facilities during our stay, once in the evening & in the morning before check out. The facilities were excellent, especially the snow cave, which was something we haven't experienced before!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    262
    131
    70
    41
See reviews for
217
492
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a lovely weekend here with my mum last weekend 12th July 2014. Staff in the hotel were fantastic very helpful and polite. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so they took us to the bar till it was ready and had some one take our bags up as well. The spa was great, I loved the hydrotherapy pools outside very relaxing. The decor was very luxurious inside with a large pool. The sauna and steam rooms were great. It was just a shame the snow cave wasn't open as I was looking forward to trying it. Would certainly go back for another break.

Room Tip: Garden rooms offer a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nattynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5 star review. I am so pleased to hear you and your mum had such a nice experience with us. I apologise the Snow Cave was not working whilst you were with us this has since been rectified. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently stayed here for my boyfriends 30th and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. A relaxed & romantic getaway was what we wanted and Thornton Hall delivered nothing less! We had afternoon tea which I would highly recommend to everyone. The room itself was beautifully decorated and clean.
We were shown round by the manager Geoff as a possible wedding venue, he answered any questions we had and gave us the time we wanted to have a good look round. The rest of the staff were all so polite and created a lovely atmosphere..and breakfast in bed topped off a fantastic stay. I would 100% recommend this hotel and can't wait for our next stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful time, congratulations on your engagement. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Myself and my now husband recently had our wedding reception in this hotel and I have to say I was amazed at how lovely and friendly the staff are but yet so so professional!
As we had been arranging our wedding reception here, we had been to the hotel for a few visits about the wedding details, we always saw the same person (Sam) which made it more personal and we were able to build a good rapport with her. She was so helpful and nothing was any trouble.
As the wedding becoming closer and closer all the staff in the hotel where very helpfully in finalising details and reasuring us that all will be fine.
As the big day arrived I was sure something was going to go wrong but it didnt! and I honestly think it was because of the staff at the hotel. The whole day ran so smoothly and quickly. I would honestly recommend anyone to get married here. The staff are polite and will bend over backwards for you!
The food was excellent, it was so fresh, non of this pre-cooked stuff you get in big hotels! All our guests commented on how nice the food was. And any changes to the menu e.g. veggie, child, smaller portion etc was not a trouble for them.
As for the stay in the hotel, I couldnt fault that at all!
I stayed in one of the Garden View rooms the night before and then myself and my husband stayed in the Penthouse. The rooms are lovely, clean, well decorated and felt very homely.
The breakfast in the morning was yet again amazing! So fresh, nothing was burned or dry, such a huge variety of food whether you are trying to be healthy or just want a good old fry up. The staff where always on hand if you wanted more coffee/tea or if someone infront of you took the last egg they would apologise and bring more to you freshly cooked from the kitchen.
My husband and I are planning on going back to the hotel every year for our anniversary for food, drink and to relax in the spa.
Thank you to all the staff in the hotel for our perfect wedding, especially Sam who knew I was a worrier and she always calmed me down :) thank you xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, I'm sure everyone will be happy with their room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecj453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to Sam for you. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for your Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My Boyfriend wowed me with a surprise Spa birthday present for my 30th. The hotel was beautiful. The room we stayed in was a studio- fabulous! The staff were nice. The drinks were reasonably priced. We enjoyed wine spritzers in the jacuzzi. The food was amazing. The breakfast was the best I've ever had. We particularly loved the snow cave. it was ace and felt (how i imagine) an igloo would be like! The treatments were lovely. The body massage and lovely potions were superb. I truly couldn't have asked for a better present! I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: a studio- fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review.

Wow, it sounds like you had an amazing birthday surprise! I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue but well deserved ... We held our wedding reception in the Torintone Suite 30th Dec 2013 and the day was just perfect .... The staff were all so friendly, polite and helpful nothing was too much trouble. I had booked singing waiters as a suprise for my new husband and family and friends and only Dave the manager and the staff knew about this .... The singing waiters were given a uniform by Dave so they blended in with the rest of the staff ... Dave made sure everyone was kept happy even when whilst the waiters were performing and some guests took it a little too serious he he ... All of our guests commented on how lovely the food was, they had a fab day! The whole day ran so smoothly - could not have expected any better :) I would one hundred percent recommend this venue to any couples planning their wedding ... The rooms are lovely, friendly staff, fab food what more could you ask for. A big massive special thank you to Dave Pike who made us feel very special and looked after all our guests ... Hopefully we will stay in the hotel again soon and enjoy some spa treatments as I've heard amazing things about this spa xxx thank you for all the hard work everyone put in on our day love Mr and Mrs Sweeney x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vikets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your 'Perfect wedding day' experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighed to read how much you both enjoyed your special day with us. It is always lovely to read such amazing comments and I will certainly pass them on to Dave Pike and the team. Also, to our fabulous chef's who are totally dedicated to providing the very best to our guests.

We all hope to welcome you again very soon...we have some amazing inclusive Spa packages on offer throughout the year!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel and staff fantastic had a great day food also excellent would book again with out a problem
I would like to say a big thank you to all who made the day special Edward for arranging it all and to Aimee and team who made the pagoda look fantastic and to all the team a big thank you

Room Tip: We held baby shower in the pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so delighed to read your lovely comments regarding 'Beth's Baby Shower'. It was a delight to have met and welcomed you to Thornton Hall.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
7.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
774 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing