We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think twice before having your wedding here!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Think twice before having your wedding here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My little sister got married here at the hotel on Sunday 28th and yes, things can and do go wrong with arrangements (like forgetting a room for the brides parents - which had been booked over a year before!)
However, this disaster could have been "saved" had hotel staff done more to "put a smile back on my parents face" as we asked, Instead they made token gestures and merely didnt charge for the room that they were due to be in and for our room, (as we swaped with them to give them the garden room they were expecting). that I expected as a given, when the brides mother was reduced to tears. I genuinely believe you can turn round a "mistake" by your response to and this hotel sadly really didnt seem to care. Evertime I saw the managers he ran away from me and promised he would come and talk to me in 5 mins (after he had done this or that) and yet he never did, not once......this level of service is poor for a hotel whose main business is weddings. My recommendation is find another hotel!

Room Tip: Go stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_UKBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    242
    130
    66
    40
See reviews for
196
450
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well we booked this two night stay for our first wedding anniversary, the staff from the moment we arrived to when we left were fantastic and could not do enough, very knowledgeable and able to answer any and all questions.
Our room was very well furnished with a lovely view of the lawns.
Tv in the bath, well ok I can go with that but give me a full range of channels.
Restaurant. ?. Fine dining. Absolutely fantastic I think the best food I have ever eaten.
They were able to offer a bespoke taster menu for my wife that was out of this world.
Intense flavour from every element on every plate.
Absolutely fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed with the hotel and spa set in countryside just off the m53. Our room was clean, spacious and modern and the bar and lawns restaurant were very impressive in a beautiful building. The hotel and spa staff were super helpful and knowledgeable and we really enjoyed our treatments. My only complaint was the standard of food in the lawns restaurant for the price - I enjoyed the experience but found some of it rather tasteless-and I've had better at other similar restaurants. The setting and staff however were brilliant and I would definately stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We ate in the fine dining "the lawns" restaurant and the food was really good. The only thing that let the hotel down was that there was a wedding or party going on at the same time which ruined the atmosphere with their raucous behavior.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa last weekend and were delighted with the whole experience. The Hotel is very well appointed with all the facilities you would expect but above all two things stand out. All the staff are exceptionally professional and friendly and the food is absolutely fanfastic. We have stayed in hotels all round the world and this gem on our doorstop is up there with the very best.
This is not our first visit and it will most certainly not be our last.
PS. If you like a good cheese board after your meal with regard to variety and outstanding quality served at the perfect temperature this is the place for you - and don't miss out on the highly original wine jelly accompaniment !!!

Room Tip: As a general rule - A south facing room overlooks the extensive gardens. An east facing room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Thornton Hall as a wedding guest in 2005 and 2006 and on both occasions the wedding breakfast was superbly executed - genuinely delicious as opposed to something to 'soak up' the celebratory fizz. I returned recently for a family birthday party and was thrilled to find that the high standards have been maintained. We spent time in the spa and enjoyed fabulous treatments. I've visited my fair share of spas around the world and this was right up there with the very best. Dinner was beautifully cooked and the service was brilliant, attentive but not over solicitous. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff and they made a special birthday a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkgate, Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a Hen Weekend which included dinner, bed and breakfast, one treatment and full use of all the leisure facilities. The leisure facilities are excellent, lovely pool, sauna and steam room and 3 jacuzzis! 2 of which are outside! Prosecco in the Outdoor Hot Tub was excellent, 15 of us surrounded by thick snow (yes it was weekend before Easter!) Water was lovely and hot though! Staff were so helpful and friendly, took out photos for us. Treatment-wonderful! 3 course dinner excellent served in our own private dining room 'The Oak Room', beautifully set table with two huge candelabras! Breakfast in The Lawns Restaurant, again, excellent! A perfect weekend! A big thanks to Thornton Hall!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing