We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night in Feburary this year to celebrate my Mum's wedding.. We checked in in the afternoon easily, and were quickly ushered to the Spa where we had previously booked spa treatments. The treatments were very relaxing, the only fault was we did not recieve the robes we had been promised, although we now realise this was our fault as we had not asked at reception for them. One employee who we all feel was fantastic worked at the spa reception desk, Jackie. Nothing we could ask was too much trouble, and she helped us in any way possible.
The evening meal at the hotel was outstanding, and the complimentary courses and drinks recieved made the meal so special.
One problem however was that none of us managed to get much sleep as the hotel rooms were boiling.
We are already planning to book further occassions at this hotel as the staff and design of the hotel are brilliant. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    248
    130
    67
    40
See reviews for
201
458
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

A home run again! Realised in the morning that we had a free night, so booked a table at The Lawns and a Garden Room for a night's stay. Ten out of ten. A delicious dinner in the The Lawns with well trained and informative staff, followed by a cheeky drink in the bar. Great nights sleep followed by a morning a soak in the new outdoor jacuzzi. So nice, we were even glad to see the kids!

Room Tip: Go for a garden room which looks over the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My partner took me here for a birthday treat. The room was good although quite a walk from the resurant. The food in Lawns was OUTSTANDING sheer heaven, I would go back just to eat however the bar bill was horrendous and we were over charged

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed there last weekend at their special rate of £90 for dinner, bed & breakfast. Excellent value for money. £34 (per couple) allowance for dinner meant that the room only rate was £11 per head. Food was very good, dining room is part of the older building so has some real character,good leisure facilities, room was adequate. Staff were all young but very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: They offer upgrades to themed rooms when available for £30
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Spent a night here a couple of weeks ago having stayed the night before at the Village in Bromborough. Thornton Hall is in the old historic village of Thornton Hough and as such, its a nice quiet location just off the Clatterbridge roundabout.

There is clearly a lot of pride and love that's gone into the place. The rooms are spotless and look quite modern (but still comfortable and homely). The gym is well equipped and there is a swimming pool there too which I didn't know about. The health check I had to take prior to being allowed to use the machines was a bit tedious and a waste of time, but at least it shows they give a damn about their guests.

Finally, the restaurant does great breakfasts. Would happily stay there again.

Joe

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

A large group of us took over the whole of the hotel for a long weekend in January. The hotel coped very well, unlike similar hotels we have experienced on this annual weekend away. Fod was good and we were particularly impressed with the effort made at breakfast. They provided fresh portage if requested and foods were topped up well. Pity the Danish pastries ran out on Sunday, but perhaps we should have been there earlier!
The is a lovely outdoor spa, although something else outside was cordoned off at the time we were there. Inside facilities around the pool were good too, although I found the pool a little cold. We had a room in the old hall which was very pleasant and had a rol top bath. Those of our friends we visited in the new wing had slightly larger rims, some with tvs in their bathrooms.
A very god disco was provided going on until 2am, which was a nice touch. Not sure whether it was beause we had the whole hotel, but better than everything stopping at 12:00 as we've had before. All tnings considered the quality of evening food for such a large group was also of a high standard. However, they probably cut their noses off to spite their faces. With such high drinks prices. Most people bought drinks to consume before dinner with friends in their rooms, or walked to the pub in the vilage. I wish hotels would realise that there is the potential for people consuming far more of their drinks if they don't feel they are being ripped off! Ultimately I'm sure they would make more money!
However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, as well as efficient. Often, unfortunately, a rare combination these days. Would happily return on our own or we may well return with the group in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want more character or more modern facilities - rooms different, but all nice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We visited this hotel as a family group of 16 to celebrate my parents 75th & 80th birthdays for the weekend of 13/1/2012. We were greeted at reception by 'did you realise the pool has restricted swim times for children?' We arrived 15 mins before the allocated time finished on the friday so no swim for my very disppoined kids then, saturday we were out during the day so again no swim which left just Sunday morning 10-12. Not a good start to the break. We were promptly told that the times had been specified on the booking confirmation which as the break had been booked by my parents, we had not seen. The times are very restrictive and not family friendly. Our room was nice, the bathroom looked as if it had been recently refurbed but the hallways were still being redecorated. Our meal was booked for 7pm. The childrens menu was very poor and expensive at £10 for chicken nuggets, soup and banana split. The drinks were extortionate! Service was very slow, in fact my eldest son gave up waiting for his pudding at 10.15pm and went to bed. At 10.45pm we finally received them, an hour and a half after they were ordered. I twice had chased them after all I was only waiting for a banana split (not complicated) and was told the delay was because they had a function on in another room, personally this is not our problem. Meanwhile another couple had walked out of the restaurant without food, fed up waiting too. The restaurant manager was rude and couldn't care less at my comments that the hotel should not advertise family rooms if they then take nearly 4 hours to feed them. I asked if our saturday evening meal would be better and was told they had another large function booked in, again making us feel as if we were an inconvenience. Thankfully my children behaved very well but by the time we hit 3 hours of sitting I felt perhaps if they had of started misbehaving at least they may have fed us quicker!!
We returned saturday late afternoon to the hotel after a day out. My husband asked if there was anyway my son could have just 15 mins in the pool with his older cousins later in the evening when the pool was empty but was told 'no'. The staff in the leisure club said if they did, they would lose their job. No common sense applied by the staff!
We sat down to eat at 6.30pm and the service was slightly quicker, although the restaurant manager still managed to make errors with orders. The food itself for adults was lovely although very fancy. My older son who has out grown the childrens menu however was very limited on choice as there is no 'simple' food. My neice chose mushrooms on toast as this seemed the most simple but even this was served with a lemon dressing (not stated on menu) which she didnt like.
As we retired for the evening we were chased down the corridor by the restaurant manager accusing us of not signing for our drinks!! We had signed for everything but was made to feel as if he thought we were leaving without paying.
Sunday we headed to the pool with my very excited sons. The experience made us feel very uncomfortable. Children are clearly not liked in the leisure pool/centre. The children were having fun, swimming around when my husband was pulled to one side and asked to make my 7 yr old swim 'in a straight line'!! There were only 2 other people in the pool and we were not interferring with their space at all. Eventually the member of staff on duty, put a rope in the pool to seperate us from everyone else. All she needed to do was put a 'toxic' sign up in the same area to sum up how she made us feel. In fact the whole time we were in there, she did not take her eyes off us. As soon as our 'session' was over we vacated the pool. In disbelief, I was then followed into the changing rooms by her, as if she thought I was going to loot the lockers.
The whole weekend was topped off by the hotel trying to charge us £34 each for my sons meals, when the booking confirmation clearly says 'a £34 meal allowance is allowed per guest'. This weekend away has been an annual event for my family for many years and we have never stayed at a hotel before where we have felt so uncomfortable. The staff didn't want to help or assist us in anyway. The hotel needs to decide whether they want to specialise in spa weekends and exclude families (which is the impression we got) or make the leisure facilities and restaurant more family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any in the original house. The 1970's 'crossroads' lookalike extension...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing