We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Spa Day”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My son, daughter and I spent a wonderful day on a Celebration Spa Package. The facilites are excellent, and the products used for our treatments lovely. The package included a two course lunch which was terrific together with what seemed to be an endless amount of complimentary tea or coffee. All the staff we encountered in both the restaurant and spa were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks to everyone who made our day so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_R452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    261
    131
    70
    41
See reviews for
216
491
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was the third time myself and my partner had stayed at Thornton Hall and once again were impressed with the service, food and facilities.

As it was the special occasion of booking our wedding we decided to upgrade to the penthouse suite...wow! The suite had a separate lounge with a couch, fridge, plasma TV and a desk in the window overlooking fantastic views. The bedroom was large with a lovely comfy bed (like sleeping on a cloud!). The bathroom had a free standing bath, two separate sinks and a shower, even a TV to watch whilst in the bath!

Laura (the wedding coordinator) was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us in going through the wedding details and gave us great confidence that the day itself will be special and one to remember.

We ordered room service for lunch which was served quickly and was more than enough! The food in the lawns restaurant was absolutely fantastic - the menu was the same both nights but both meals were perfect. The staff members in the restaurant are also friendly and happy to help.

Overall a fantastic stay - both myself and my partner can't wait for our next break at Thornton Hall, and we know we'll be treated like VIPs for our wedding day!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here for my partners Birthday. Firstly I must say the evening meal in Lawns was up there with the best and well worth it's 3 AA rosettes. the service is very good and everyone is trying very hard but it is not quite in the same league as the food.

The room is nice and clean, we paid £30 extra for a room upgrade which gave us TV in bathroom (gimmicky but the future), bathrobes, slippers and a balcony overlooking the lovely grounds.

The bathroom was very modern and clean, the bed was comfortable and the rest of the room was clean but maybe slightly tired.

All in all, we loved our stay and would go again for the food alone

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel and staff were fantastic, from start to finish we were looked after really well.
The food was terrific, and the journey to Royal Liverpool Golf Club a doddle. Thanks to everyone at the hotel, we are booked in for 2 further events already for 2012. Enough said!

Room Tip: all good to be honest, esp the penthouse room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmurray_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Having opened a new office in Birkenhead my wife and I have to travel up from Devon on frequent occasions. Having used another Hotel in the area and been dissatisfied with cleanliness and quality we tried Thornton Hall and were very pleased that we did. We do like luxury so we booked the Penthouse Suite which has a separate lounge and airconditioning. The Suite was very comfortable and the bathroom was well laid out with all luxuries and toiletries and numerous towels. The restaurant provided for both gourmet meals and lighter meals and the the quality was excellent.You cannot fault the friendliness of all staff and their willingness to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Room service was excellent also.

The Hotel is a listed building so there are no lifts but that is not a problem and the period features are great. The Hotel caters for numerous weddings but these do not interrupt the guests
We held a training course for our staff and the meeting room provided was clean and tidy and airconditioned with flipboard and screens for presentations. The business package was at a single price per person which was really good and again the service was excellent

We have already booked to go back again and we will hold future meetings at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa.Overall this is a lovely venue whether you are going for a break or on business

Room Tip: Basic rooms are clean and well appointed but if you want safety deposit boxes and minibares or airco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topgnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a freinds wedding at the Manor. Check in was efficient and friendly and this set the tone for the stay. Great room, breakfast and facilities- would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet stay in a lovely area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Tr8vel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Took my mum for a 1 night spa break, we had a massage and a facial each which were wonderful, we lazed in the jacuzzi and hot tub, which were lovely too. The Lawns restaurant was indeed fine dining and the service was excellent. A thoroughly enjoyable night away, which I feel was worth the money. Well Done to all the staff too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieW38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
7.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
774 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing