We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawns Restaurant at Thornton Hall

The Lawns Restaurant at Thornton Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $100
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: With 3 AA Rosettes for fine dining, our restaurant offers a menu for lunch and dinner of superb international cuisine, and we have an extensive selection of wines from around the world to accompany. Our beautifully styled restaurant is the ideal venue for any special occasion or just a treat! Come along and have a look around our lounge is open from 11am until 11pm for non-residents. The Lawns chef, Ben Mounsey, has a background working in of some of the most exclusive venues in the country. He brings his experience to Thornton Hall and has created a selection of fantastic menus suited to all occasions, together with the ambience of Lawns, an unparalelled dining experience is created. Our Restaurant Manager and team will ensure that from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you and your guests will receive the very best in service and advice on how to enhance your dining experience.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I ate here with my partner. We had the taster menu with wine, the meal was made up of 6 courses and a glass of wine to accompany each course. The food was outstanding and included Mackerel, Pigeon as starters. Turbot, roe deer as mains and the chefs take on viennetta and cheesecake to finish. Every course was made to perfection with plenty of skill from the chef. The waiting staff were excellent and very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The dishes were not huge but plenty enough for me. The wines were very well thought out and accompanied the food very well. It may seem a little expensive, but I thought it was great value for money. We went through to the bar after the meal and the barman again was very helpful and friendly, there was a very good selection at the bar. This is one of the best restaurants I have eaten at and can't wait to do it again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    45
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful venue for anyone visiting the Wirral. This hotel has everything from beautiful restaurants, function rooms, bridal suite spa and so much more

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clairehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All one could ask for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A Sunday evening meal for four which was a chance to catch up was enhanced not only by the surroundings but also the cuisine and service. After waiting in the bar area for our friends to arrive our order was taken and within a short time we were escorted to our table. Just the right amount of attention was given so that you didn't feel your were being pushed around but also you didn't feel as if you were hanging around. The three courses had a choice of 5 different meals and were very different but a broad selection to account for a variety of tastes. Although not huge portions the food was delicious and at the end of the meal your appetite was satisfied because of the intensity of flavours. Our dining selection was the Sunday evening special and as part of this you received a bottle of wine per couple. A choice of 2 in either, red, rose or white and if you didn't drink it you could take it home!!! The cheese selection was the best I have ever seen and brought to the table by a very knowledgeable waitress. Makes a change from run of the mill Cheddar etc. Aftr dinner we went to the lounge to have coffee and the experience continued as we were offered home made sweets and chocolates from a wooden box to accompany our drinks. One downside was the rather high price for a glass of house wine at £8.50. All in all a very pleasant experience which I am sure will soon be repeated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sparklybarkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in Merseyside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'll keep it short - this restaurant deserves all the 'Excellent' recommendations on Tripadvisor. The food is fantastic, the setting/decor of the restaurant is pure luxury - makes you feel special whether it's a special occasion or not! The staff really know their stuff and are never too pushy or attentive, just the right level of service. I've been here with my girlfriend and family on several occasions and it is always top notch. Quick tip - tie it in with a night at the hotel (look for the dinner B&B deals) and you get to enjoy the spa too!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edelweiss1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best in Wirral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent food, service. We met a Manager called Geoff Dale, he was so helpful and obliging. The restaurant is one of the best we have been to. Food is 5 star, will be going again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieHoylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lawns Restaurant at Thornton Hall also viewed

Thornton Hough, Wirral
Birkenhead, Wirral
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Lawns Restaurant at Thornton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing