We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best wedding venue EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornton Manor
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is the best wedding venue EVER!”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have just spent a magical day at Thornton Manor for our daughter's wedding. The Manor is the perfect backdrop for any special occasion, but for a wedding, it is perfect. The house is a blend of country chic, elegance, history and grandeur and you can have it all to yourselves. from the majestic Music Room to the comfortable lounge. Everywhere there are fires to warm you and add a homely ambience; candles flicker throughout the entire house & the attentive staff are a delight. Nothing is too much trouble & we were able to just sit back & enjoy the wedding. I can't tell you how many letters we have received from delighted guests, both those who stayed overnight |& enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast banquet & those who did not. All, like us can't praise it enough. And then there are the Christmas decorattions....ah!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    33
    19
    18
    22
See reviews for
109
76
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

With our expectations driven by stays at our favourite abodes including the Hotel De Crillon - Paris, Essex House - New York, Burj Al Arab – Dubai and the Bauer Il Palazzo – Venice, the prospect of finding a hotel on the Wirral that would service the needs of our family over the Xmas and New Year period was, frankly, not looking good. Thumbing quickly through the descriptions of the 4-star establishments in West Wirral did not bode well pressing a look at hotels in Liverpool and a brief stray into the ‘holiday let’ scene.

Thornton Manor had appeared nowhere, not until we stumbled across it on Tripadvisor....and what a find this was! The Manor’s website was very informative and offered imagery of two, three and four bedroom cottages that appeared well finished, roomy and really quite unique for the area. That said...it appeared tailored to being a specialist wedding venue offering an exclusive country manor settings for guests of the bride and groom and this didn’t seem encouraging for our requirement. However, a phone call and a couple of emails later and we were booked in for a two week stay....albeit with a little trepidation as it wasn’t our typical choice of residence.
Thankfully, we were not disappointed and, moreover, we truly believe that we’ve actually found a gem of a place, unique in so many ways and with personal attention that demonstrates a true take on the word ‘guest’ that made our stay so different, including an invite to share mulled wine on Xmas Eve with some of their family and friends.

This is certainly not your typical hotel, it is quirky in some ways, quintessential in many, and all this wrapped up in an absolutely breathtaking setting. Diane & Phillip invite you to take a glimpse into a private world, encouraging an understanding of the history of the Manor and, with the likes of Churchill and the Queen Mother as previous guests, it’s easy to capture a real sense of that history. Undoubtedly, this couple have taken on a huge task and have a great passion for the Manor whilst it’s in their care. We do wish them well with this venture and look forward to our next visit.
Veronica, Peter & Harry

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE, UK
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Thornton Manor is a fabulous venue for a wedding. From the moment we stepped foot inside Thornton Manor we knew we wanted to get married there. The grounds are stunning and the inside breathtaking. The staff were a credit to Thornton Manor and made sure ourselves and our guests wanted for nothing, they couldn't have been more friendly. We and many of our guests stayed in the accommodation which could not be faulted (some reviews mention not having locks on the doors, you just have to ask for a key if you want one, we however felt we didn't need one as it is like one big family and we trusted everyone). The rooms are each decorated in keeping with the manor house and are extremely inviting and well kept. The music room was amazing and set the perfect drop back for our wedding reception. We really cannot thank Thornton Manor enough for making our wedding day so perfect, I dont know of any one of our guests who had anything but praise to say about Thornton Manor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusoCheshire_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I cannot say enough about the 'magical' Thornton Manor. We held our wedding here in December 2009, and the venue and staff were a massive factor in making it the most magical day we've ever had. The homeliness of the venue and attentiveness of the staff were simply out of this world, with the fantastic Philip and Dianne always being willing to help in the lead up to the big day. The staff took care of our every need, as well as the guest's every need, from taxiing people about, to ensuring guests were met in their cars on arrival. Many of 'the little things' that you just wouldn't expect, were taken care of without batting an eye lid. The venue itself is stunning, and incredibly warm and cosy, which gives it a great homely feel at xmas, along with the open fires and gorgeous decorations. I can't imagine anywhere else in the world being such a perfect choice for an xmas wedding. Simply fantastic and magical, and we will remember our day (and probably nip back to bug Philip and Dianne a few more times!!!) forever. Thank you so much to all the staff, simply fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We paid £95 for a "servant's quarter" room with private bath, no food. It was spartan, bare floorboards, old-fashioned bathroom down a corridor - and NOT marked as private so couldn't leave anything in it. No kettle or anything except jug of water. It would definitely have been worth staying elsewhere and using a taxi to get to/from wedding reception.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank anne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We live in Australia but planned to marry in England as I am from Liverpool originally. Because we had 20+ Australian guests coming over we wanted a venue that required very little preparation from me - as I was on the other side of the world - and was classical and very 'English'. Thornton Manor had it all.
As soon as we were met by Dianne at the Manow we felt at ease. I knew that we were in very capable hands. All my questions, however small, were addressed and I felt that our big wedding was in very good hands.
The venue speaks for itself and needed little more than a few flowers to decorate. The staff were very patient and kind (especially Hannah and the night staff....thanks). The rooms were spectacular and worked well for us as we had big groups of friends who could all stay in the same annexe or cottage.
We had an amazing day and I will always remember leaving the following morning with Di and Phil waving us goodbye at the grand front door.
You only get one wedding day and we are delighted we chose such a fantastic venue for ours.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

If you want the perfect wedding, then Thornton Manor will help you to realise this dream. From the moment we arrived to view the venue, we knew immediately that this was the place we wanted to get married. We had guests flying in from across the world to join us who commented that this is a simply stunning location. Not only is it a beautiful venue, the staff go out of their way to make your special day a magical experience. We shared our wedding with my father's 64th birthday on 8th October and I have to say that it is a day that we wont ever forget.

The attention to detail was fantastic and the day was seamless in terms of the co-ordination. All of the staff are a credit to Phillip and Dianne, the team worked so hard and this did not go un-noted by the guests.

Thornton Manor has a certain charm to it, the house becomes your home for the day. With beds so comfy, caterers that provide food to tantalise your palate and staff on hand to help out day and night, we wouldn't have changed a single thing.

We would definitely recommend this to any bride and groom - you will have the best day of your life

The only down side about it was that we had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_StuartPuttnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
271 reviews
15.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing