We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thornton Manor
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a family wedding on Friday the 27th of June,so my wife and myself stayed over night in the Tower bedroom which cost £200 and no meals which I thought was really expensive. But that changed when we were taken to the room,to say it was nice did not do it justice, it was fabulous we felt like The Lord and Lady of the manor.the decor and fittings were top class , I even took a shower and a bath because I wanted to take everything in . The wedding was organised to the upmost standard. It was a joy to walk around the Manor and it's gardens

Room Tip: The tower bedroom was total class ,it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyMower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    18
    14
    20
See reviews for
94
68
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had our graduation ball in the lakeside marquee. It was a stunning venue, fantastic service and perfect in every way. It was the perfect size for our guest list of 360 people, and everyone had a fantastic time. The venue hire was expensive, but justifiably so. The only thing to watch out for is that they will charge for all the extras e.g table cloths, table number holders etc, so be clear on what will cost you extra from the beginning. Would definitely recommend it though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollipop_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We held our Graduation Ball in the Lakeside marquee which is just the most incredible location. Once you've seen that marquee you could never go anywhere else!!!!!! All the staff I dealt with were wonderful, an event planner is assigned to you and the venue also has caterers, DJs etc that they like you to use; all of which I was very impressed with.
We stayed in the Trainers Annexe which was expectedly old fashioned but did lack a bit of charm. Beds were comfy with nice towels and linen, but rooms really need to have Wi-fi these days, ( we had no time to watch TV but other people would find it annoying I think) particularly for what they charge for the rooms. I would absolutely recommend Thornton Manor as a venue; but the rooms really need to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango_Tango45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala1943
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Attended a wedding recently. Stayed at 'gardeners annex'. The actual wedding venue was beautiful and the service was very good. Accommodation was very disappointing. It was very basic. No TV, no wi-fi. There was bread & butter etc. for a self-breakfast but no toaster. The area was poorly lit when we got back from the event at night and was unsafe.The value for money for the room was zero. I would not recommend the 'garderners' annex' to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, which we enjoyed very much. It is a very grand venue.

The room was on the small side, but clean and tidy. Unfortunately though, we had no hot water on the morning after the wedding which was a bit of a shock! We also had to pay a deposit in order to have a key for our room, otherwise it would have been left unlocked - I found this a rather strange policy.

As the rooms were, in our opinion, very expensive, these issues were keenly felt. If you are paying a lot of money to stay there, the least you can expect is a secure room and a hot shower!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjfbsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My son got married here on June 29th it was a truly wonderful day, Fantastic food and service a warm friendly welcome.
We stayed over for one night and found the room a bit disappointing, no TV, wifi, kettle and no breakfast included in the price. No hot water in the evening and again in the morning because the boiler was off and it took nearly an hour to heat up.
But overall a very good place to have a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We would like to say a big thank you to Philip,Diane and all the staff at Thornton manor for making our wedding at the thatched & waterside pavilion the most amazing day. The venue and setting was absolutely stunning and staff so helpful. It was a dream come true.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#1 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Bromborough) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing