We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful wedding reception venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful wedding reception venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We held our wedding breakfast and reception at Mere Brook House in June 2013 and it was a truly fantastic day. The food was delicious and our guests enjoyed the options to try a bit of every course we had on the menu. The house itself is beautiful, a relaxing environment and immaculately kept. The team here do such a good job and everything ran smoothly on the big day. We hired the rooms in the cottage and the house for ourselves and guests on the wedding night and the accommodation was luxurious yet welcoming. We would recommend this as a wedding venue to anyone having a small/medium sized event and as a B&B. Lorna and the team do such a great job - it's a pleasure to stay there. Lucy and Paul.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is perfect as a bridal suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
64
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we stayed here originally last October after attending a wedding nearby and I decided at the time it would be a great place to have a surprise 40th birthday party/dinner for my wife. from the first time of speaking to lorna to discuss the possibility to the time we left lorna was friendly, helpful and took everything in her stride with total professionalism. there were 15 of us so we booked all the rooms and had exclusive use of the house all day and night which was fantastic as we spent most of the afternoon in the gardens relaxing and then helped ourselves to some of the complimentary cheese/biscuits and cakes which were on offer. in the evening lorna and her team (james the chef who was fantastic) layed on a fantastic meal which we had decided upon beforehand and made sure we were extremely well looked after until they all went home around 11pm and left us to carry on partying into the early hours. the rooms are all beautifully decorated and spotless and more like a boutique hotel (but half the price), the communal areas are also fantastic. it really feels like you are lord of a beautiful country manor when you stay there with the staff and décor making you feel at home from the moment you arrive. I could heap praise for another 500 words but simply put, if you want to visit the wirral , stay there and experience it for yourself - guaranteed you will not be disappointed ! many thanks to lorna, Donald , james and the other staff for a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved the personal touches of Mere Brook House. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were told we could help ourselves to tea/coffee, cake and other refreshments from the (lovely) kitchen. Also, beer and wine was complimentary. The cakes and shortbread were delicious! You can tell a lot of thought and care has been put in to this B&B. We particularly liked the lovely panelled sitting room and the beautiful entrance hall. Thank you Lorna!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dragonfly room which was very comfortable and spacious, with a lovely veiw through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A group of us attending a wedding at Thornton Manor stayed here in June. Everything was perfect. The staff greeted us like long lost friends and gave some people a free upgrade. We had a tour of the house and were served complimentary tea, coffee and cakes in the lounge. The bedrooms were lovely, had everything you could need, spotless, spacious and comfortable. We even had a lift to the Manor to save us getting a cab. When we got back from wedding, exhausted and quite merry, we could help ourselves to cheese and biscuits, cake, beer and wine - which we did - while we luxuriated in the soft comfy sofas in the lounge. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and tasty and we managed to buy some of their home produced honey as a souvenir. This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed and other hotel professionals would do well to take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILYMANManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked Mere Brook House for a small party with friends and family. The house is wonderful, rooms spacious and luxurious (TVs in bathrooms), grounds beautiful and peaceful. Lorna and the team instantly understood the kind of event we wanted and just got on with the efficient running of the day. All the guests loved the place, the food and the staff, we couldn't have asked for more. I would prefer it if no-one else knew about this place, so we could have it all to ourselves, but they deserve a top-notch recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our daughter held her wedding reception here and we stayed three nights. It was a wonderful stay in really lovely surroundings. The 5 star gold status is well deserved. We were made to feel at home straight away. It was a friendly relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms and food were excellent. Lots of extras were thoughtfully provided. I would certainly recommend Mere Brook House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrizeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Mere Brook House in Thornton Hough in the Wirral for 5-star gold bed and breakfast that is like home from home… but better! It’s a beautiful house in lovely country surroundings and the owner, Lorna, together with Joanne who runs the housekeeping side make you feel so at home you won’t want to leave. They even offer locally-sourced cheese and biscuits and home-made cake for you to nibble on overnight.

All the food is locally sourced (Lorna is also a farmer and she and her husband live in a farm nearby) and the cooking is excellent. They do weddings at the hotel quite regularly and it's not surprising as it is a beautiful place.

The rooms are spotless and beautiful - homely but high-grade. I stayed in a double room with a large balcony which had a table and chairs on it for al fresco seating.

People come back here time and again and I'm not surprised. Any time I go to Liverpool/Wirral area I will stay here. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: I thoroughly recommend the double with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Property: Mere Brook House
Address: Westmere Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing