We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newbies to naturism, but won't be our last”
Review of La Jenny

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Porge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jenny
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Newbies to naturism, but won't be our last”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

La Jenney was our first trip into naturism, but it won't be our last. What a great introduction! Friendly staff welcome you to the wonderful site set amongst a lovely remote pine forest close to the coast.
We stayed in a 'fregate' villa/cabin that was well positioned so that 'your' porch did not intrude onto the other people around you. It is a little basic inside (no microwave) and only two rings on the hot plate but easy to produce good meals for the two of us.
The bedroom was the only thing that let it down really, far too small with less than 6 inches between the end of the bed and the bedroom wall (oh and the pillows! ) That said, it was a good little 'home' for us for the week.
The site was clean, quiet and very peaceful. The supermarket was well stocked, a reasonsible price and cheery helpful staff. The restuarant did get busy, so it is advisible to book for the more popular later evening (8pm onwards) times. A la carte is a little pricey but the plat du jour and specials are good value and tasty. The bar was a bit of a disapointment inside, but the outside was lovely with good service and good prices.
The pools are great and the mixture of three diffrent types of pool plus a paddling pool for the little ones meant that everyone had space to swim and play.
If you are an archer, take your own bow with you (as I did) as the archery range can be used at anytime if there are not classes on. The archery instructor, Sat, is a knowledgible bloke who got everyone going but also welcomed experienced archers as well. Like all the staff at La Jenny, he was friendly helpful and doing his best to make your holiday enjoyable.
Is it truly a naturist site, maybe not, more clothes optional. Some people were naturist as often as the weather permitted, with just a top on when it was a little cool, others were fully clothed nearly all the time. The pool area was the only area where the strict no clothing rules were enforced by staff and also by some fiesty french grandmas!
Th nearby beach is fantastic and has life guards during the high season. A good job too, as there was a very strong under tow on the steeply shelving beach/waterline. The wind comes straight off the Atlantic, so it can get quite cool and a wind break is a great idea.
As a place to start your naturist future life, La Jenny was almost perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elf_Bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Bonjour! Flying from the U.S. to Bordeaux, this was our first trip to La Jenny. We rented a car at the Bordeaux airport and made the 1 hr journey to "La Jenny Domaine Residentiel Naturiste" without too much difficulty thanks to our Garmin GPS. We arrived later than we'd planned, but the La Jenny reception office was very accomodating and ensured our lodging keys and gate pass were waiting for us in a lock box outside the office (we had called before leaving the airport indicating we'd be late). Neither my wife nor I speak much French, so the multi-lingual reception staff was very helpful throughout our entire stay. We stayed for 7 nights at the end of June in a Bengali 2 chalet not far from the golf course...a splendid location nestled among the pine trees with occasional deer grazing outside our back deck and birds chirping away...very relaxing and peaceful. We liked the size of the Bengali 2 which was fully equipped with living room, bathroom and shower, large covered deck with patio furniture, small kitchen and dining area with silverware, dishes, pots and pans, coffee maker, etc. One separate bedroom had a double bed, another smaller bedroom had bunk beds. We rented sheets and brought our own towels (La Jenny does not provide towels). We also rented bicycles which we used everyday to visit the beach, the main pool area, or to just enjoy riding both on the resort grounds or on bike paths adjacent to the resort along the beach (clothing required outside the resort). We also went for daily morning walks to explore the resort grounds...and get in our daily exercise (plus swimming for exercise in the large pool). The resort seems to be divided into older (and smaller) chalets on the south side and newer (larger) chalets on the north side near the golf course. The resort grounds can be described as rolling hills among a forest of pine trees. The grounds are well maintained with paved roadways and bike paths with parking at each chalet. We shopped at the small but well-stocked grocery store everyday and also used the restaurant and were always greeted by the friendly staff at both locations. La Jenny offers several organized activities, but I only found time to try the archery, which I enjoyed very much. The swimming pool area is very large with a large pool for lap swimming (heated), and two other pools for just floating around and relaxing. There's also a small children's pool which was always occupied by young families with small children. La Jenny has several tennis courts throughtout the resort and also has a 6-hole golf course and driving range which are maintained in excellent condition. I found the time to use the driving range once, but couldn't fit in a round of golf on this trip...next time for sure! We visited the large naturist beach at La Jenny several times also, usually riding our bikes for the 5-10 minute ride from our chalet, through the pine forest, over to the beach area. The beach was very clean and well-maintained with full-time lifeguards. An umbrella is a must unless you want to bake, and a wind screen would be helpful too since the open area of the beach can be quite windy at times (we noted several people flying kites!). We had sunshine everyday except one with some rain during the evening. Temps were mild most every day except for one which was actually very hot. A few cool mornings and evenings made us pull out our long-sleeve pullover shirts/sweaters too. We particularly liked the fact that all age groups were at La Jenny...from the young families with toddlers (lots of children at La Jenny), to the middle aged couples (with teenagers), and older couples (with grandchildren). La Jenny is the naturist "ideal" in our minds....a great experience for us which exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to return! Bon voyage!

Room Tip: Chalets on the north side (golf course) of the resort seem to be newer and larger and not so close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sun4MnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We came to La Jenny fully intending to take plenty of exercise. Our main activities were golf and tennis, which we played every day. Because the facilities were so good, we never found it hard to find a slot, even when we booked almost at the last minute. The swimming pool is massive, so that it does not feel oppressively overfull, even when there are lots of children around! If, however, you want to swim some serious lengths, it would be a good idea to come early in the morning. There were many other activities: one of us did yoga while the other concentrated on archery.

The beach is lovely, and the grounds are spacious. The accommodation (we were in a frégate) was adequate, but of course we didn't spend much time in it. The shops were well stocked and prices reasonable. The restaurants and bars were pleasant places in which to spend time. Internet access was, as was the case last year, poor. I only succeeded in sending one email all fortnight, and so had to spend a fortune on mobile phone calls back to England. We sometimes wondered how many of the people staying at the place were naturists, as the rules on nudity were flouted far more than they were observed.

In short, a great place, and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at La Jenny from 23rd to 30th August 2010. Our arrival was at 21.15, some time after reception office hours. We had advised reception the previous day of our eta, you must do this if you anticipate late arrival. We easily located the guardien at the gatehouse. He was very helpful, opening up the office especially to issue us with keys and to explain where our chalet was located and the best access route – needed because it was dark by this time. Accommodation at La Jenny is in chalets, which vary in size from palatial to semi-detached one-roomers. We had booked (at short notice) a Tourterelle. This detached type allegedly sleeps up to 6 though 2 would have to use the couch in the living area. The two of us felt just comfortable in it. As has been described elsewhere, the phrase ‘Large Wendy House’ came to mind. Although simple and rustic, it was nevertheless clean and functional and met our requirements. Most of the approx 730 chalets on the site are privately owned, but many of these are available to rent via the La Jenny resort office. We explored the site, which seems to be divided into an older part comprising smaller chalets, and a newer part comprising larger buildings. We noted several Tourterelles that we liked the look of more so than our own. We had a chat with the reception staff during the week who advised us to nominate some and enquire about January next year as to which ones might be available for that summer. The tip here is book early. The site staff were all very friendly and most helpful. Almost all spoke excellent English, German and sometimes Flemish/Dutch. We found the on site facilities very good and comprehensive although we didn’t try all of them. There is a well stocked supermarket, newsagents, plus a fishmonger on certain mornings. The bar sells very good value light meals all day, there is a Pizzeria, and a more expensive ‘proper’ restaurant for the evening. We found opening hours varied slightly from those published in brochures and the emailed booking confirmation. Sports and pastimes range from the expected huge swim pool complex through to a nice looking proper golf course (presumed 9 holes, but we don’t play), via a list too long to describe. Bicycles are available to hire and are a quick way to get around the site, note some chalet groups may be 1km plus from shops/pool/beach. The resort is very much a family oriented one, with lots of organised activities and entertainment. However it was certainly possibly to find quiet and solitude - we just lazed in the sun and read most of the time. At the start of our stay, we thought that the site was pretty much full, and the nationality split was probably 90% French, and the rest a mix of Europe allsorts. After the Saturday, when most visitors changed over, it was much less busy, and we heard many more UK and German voices than before. After the end of August the season seems to wind down very quickly, with fewer organised events and shorter opening hours for shops etc. The beach is huge, really breathtaking. There are free open air freshwater showers at the beach head, where daily information re weather, sea conditions, temperature, and water quality is clearly displayed on noticeboards. This is the Atlantic, expect big waves and a fierce undertow. Bathing is only permitted in the supervised areas. Lifeguards are present at peak times of the day. There seemed to be a surf school some days. The beach, though officially naturist, is reached from the site via paths through a belt of about 500m of forest – this is a ‘public’ area, and there are notices (4 languages) asking residents leaving the La Jenny domain to ‘observe minimum cover-up’ until the beach is reached. No one seemed to take any notice of this and so neither did we – who’s to bother? In the resort, we found naturist etiquette/ethic to be generally well observed by guests. The weather was good throughout our stay, air temperatures no more than high 20s. On the one slightly less clement day, we were exploring off site anyway. In order to reach La Jenny, and access the surrounding area, a car is essential. We travelled from the UK by train London-Paris- Bordeaux and collected a pre-booked hire vehicle by St Jean SNCF station. Journey time from there was about 100minutes, distance about 70km, including getting lost - note that navigating Bordeaux’s traffic system takes time - satnav may be useful here.
This was our first visit to La Jenny. We will certainly return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank esserbissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

After a couple of holiday testing naturism on the Croatia's beaches, this year we went for a naturist full immersion by booking a week in La Jenny resort, and we liked a lot both the experience and the place.
About the place: it's surrounded by wild pine trees, but with all comforts, to enjoy the holiday at the best. We avoid to list the facilities made available since everyone you can find them on the site, let's just say that everything we tried was up to the expectations. The place is a bit isolated, which we judged positively, but the internal mini supermarkets, the fish market, the peddler carrying oysters 4 times a week, allow procurement of everything you need at prices that we judged correct. And if that were not enough the fully stocked Leclerc in Ares is a ten minute drive. Our bungalow (Aigrette) was very minimal, but functional, and at a correct distance from the other bungalows.
About the experience, we appreciated the environment in which we felt immediately at ease: unlike what had happened on some naturist beaches, here never felt under observation for our appearance or for the fact we were naked, and we instantly forgot of not wearing clothes.
Unfortunately, the nudity is not always respected, especially in the evening, they were all fully clothed (but probably due to temperature). And more precisely bikes whizzing at high speeds with no control, when in fact at reception advised to drive slow with the cars, pointing out that there are so many children but .... there are many pedestrians too and bicycles also should respected them!
Overall, however, is a resort where we will gladly return... tomorrow!
Nearby we found really charming Cap-Ferret and interesting the Dune du Pylat.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank tan4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

If you need to work on that all over tan, then it hardly gets better than here. Little has changed from our previous visit. The chalet wqs spotless, the pools were crystal clear with the large baby pool with cushioned bottom very warm and the main lane swimming pool heated to about 25C, but warmer in the afternoons when the sun had been on it.

The restaurant menu was more limited and it is certainly wise to eat when the 'specials' are available. The local shop was better stocked than last year and open all day: no midday closures. This year there was a chicken rotisserie available all day as well.

This is a very 'mixed' naturist resort. When the sun comes out the clothes come off and after sundown in all but two days it was getting a little chilly: ie less than 25C!

The beach is superb, well patrolled and very popular - but with so much space and sand it never feels crowded despite the 500 bicycles in the bicycle racks. We even met the local police on our unclothed stroll to the beach: they were not fazed at all.

The resort is expensive with no camping or caravans - (unless that is you 'rent from a friend'). It is superbly maintained, service is always available and it is excellently staffed with many staff bi or tri lingual. In one instance I spoke to a young USA lad working there in french for 10 minutes before we both realised we could have discussed in English.

This is a QUALITY resort - provided you are happy with the obvious - the lack of clothing!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kewfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We enjoy a fab 2 weeks at La Jenny a few years back and were offered a short break to launch the early season opening. This was made acceptable by the new heated pool.

It worked, it was warm and we had a nice relaxing time. Great facilities, peaceful atmosphere and no need to worry about taking lots of clothes.

Hire a car and put some clothes on and visit Bordeaux on a dull day ... a good day trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thebuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Porge
6.3 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
11.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Lacanau
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Porge
Hotel du Porge
#1 of 1 in Le Porge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Best Western Golf Hotel Lacanau
Best Western Golf Hotel Lacanau
#2 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Bleu Marine
4.4 mi away
Camp de Base
Camp de Base
#4 of 11 in Lege-Cap-Ferret
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jenny

Property: La Jenny
Address: Route de la Jenny, 33680 Le Porge, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Le Porge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Le Porge
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
La Jenny Hotel Le Porge
La Jenny France/Le Porge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing